Valdemar´s day

danish flag at blue sky on Valdemar´s day

Today is “Valdemar´s day”, one of our official flag-days. Valdemar was King in Denmark from 1202-1248.  At a big battle in Estonia, the flag came from the sky out of nothing, and helped the Danes to victory.

Wikipedia : The red banner with a white cross (Danish:Dannebrog) has been the national flag of the Danes since 1219. It is Europe’s oldest flag design still in modern use. 

 Today is Valdemars day, and my late mothers birthday.

8 comments so far

  1. Scott Thomas Photography on

    We only have one flag day each year in the US and that was yesterday. Of course, we have lots of other patriotic days when the flag is proudly displayed. Of course, our flag is still an infant at just over 200 years old compared to the proud Danish flag. 🙂

  2. Gerry on

    That’s a bright and breezy picture, Birgitte. It reminds me of a frontier fort with the flag fluttering above the stockade fence – but I’ll bet it’s someone’s house. Nice mansard roof.

    I really enjoy seeing pictures that have a strong sense of place. Seeing Denmark through your blog is a delight.

    • giiid on

      The house is being used as kindergarden, I guess it has been used as a private house once.
      The fence is a common type, a lath fence. Some prefer to have a hedge instead, but everyone use something to mark their boundary lines. Many people have a flagpole, as you can see your fort-association is not far from reality. (I forgot to mention the barking dog!)

  3. Gerry on

    Oops. I think my comment flew off into the ozone. I liked this glimpse of Denmark very much.

    • giiid on

      I found all your 4 comments at the spamfilter today…I´m sorry that your most welcoming words had to stay there for a while, but at least they were not alone. The reason of this mistake is probably that you have an email added to your blogname as sender. By approving the comments, I think the next will be accepted, -if you ever want to write again, ofcourse 😉

  4. Nye on

    Flag day made me think of July 4th here in the US.

  5. giiid on

    July 4th is also celebrated in Denmark, every year at the same place; REBILD BAKKER -a beautiful place (a forest) in Jutland. Here is the program if you´d like to join 😉
    http://www.rebildfesten.dk/default.asp?lang=UK


Leave a comment