A very wet Great tit

My third everyday photo in the Facebook challenge is a good example of how everyday can be extraordinary if one keep eyes and ears open. I heard sounds from a water filled previous sandbox, which we had left, behind a barn. Probably an animal playing – it was very a hot day. Quietly I went there with my camera ready, expecting to see a funny sight and get a nice shot.

But what I saw was a little bird which had fallen into the water, probably on its first attempt to fly. I quickly grabbed a spade, and lifted the little wet bird – a Great tit – up from the water, – it looked as it was almost dead. Next thing was to let the warm sun dry the feathers, it took a while, and the little thing had to rest in the meantime, but slowly it began to look like a bird again.  About an hour later, it raised its little head and looked at me as if saying: “…What are you staring at, have you never seen a bird before?…” Then it took two or three bird-jumps into the green bush, and in less than a second its mother was by its side, ready to feed it. Wow, I had saved a bird, that was..great..tit.

great tit Musvit 1

great tit Musvit 2

great tit 3

 

little wet bird Musvit

great tit 4

Great tit musvit 5b

 

“…What are you staring at, have you never seen a bird before?…”

 

6 comments so far

  1. Reggie on

    What a relief, that you managed to rescue it, Birgitte. It might not have survived very long in the water. I’m so glad Mom came to look after it.

    • Giiid on

      Me too. The mom had been waiting for it, that is very sweet. But the bird has drowned if I haven’t found it, that is for sure, so I am happy I got curious and went to see what it was. 🙂

  2. Sumire on

    What a lucky tweety! If he returns sometime and bring something to you, it will be a real fairy story…

  3. Anonymous on

    Thank you so much for sharing this beautiful story and photos from the real life. It makes my heart happy 🙂
    Pia

  4. Finn Holding on

    Lovely pictures, you did really well to rescue this little guy. But he doesn’t really look very grateful!

    • Giiid on

      You are right, no sign of gratefulness! I have to be grateful myself. 🙂


Leave a Reply

