December 11

pebernuts

Pebernødder – “pepper nuts”, a Christmas cookie. Also used in the little old game “mouse”. A number of pepper nuts are on a line, one of them are named as the mouse by the players, except the one who are supposed to guess which one it is. It is allowed to eat until the player´s guess hits the mouse.

5 comments so far

  1. TheDailyClick on

    Mmmm!!! 🙂
    I remember eating those in Germany when I was a child, but I think they were glazed with something sugary. I know a store here where we can get them…..might have to go buy some 😉

    • Giiid on

      There is a very delicious German Christmas cookie, glaceed with sugar, perhaps you are thinking of this, but it is soft, and the pepper nuts are hard. I´ll buy some if I see them, and show you. 🙂 (A good excuse for buying them.) 🙂

      • TheDailyClick on

        You’re probably right, although the are called “Pfeffernüsse” (pepper nuts), and to be honest, it’s been so long, I can’t remember if they were hard or soft.

  2. Reggie on

    I don’t think one needs many excuses to munch these delicious-looking pepper nuts, Birgitte… It was very thoughtful of you to buy a packet to take a photograph for us. Perhaps you can take some photographs of other traditional Danish Christmas cookies and gingerbreads and sweets to show (and teach) us… it’s for a good cause, after all. 😉

    • Giiid on

      Certainly, I seem to be thoughtful, so much that I will follow your advice and buy some (more) Christmas candy and cakes…just let me know if you need any excuse – sorry – advice for yourself. 😉


Leave a Reply

