End of summer

These photos will be my my contribution to Scott Thomas latest assignment, “End of summer”. The summer in Denmark ends in August, but the assignment rules asks for recently taken photos, so I will include this last photo which was taken some days ago, it definitely says “End of summer” to me!

20 comments so far

  1. Dawn on

    Ice cream half off is an excellent reason to head into fall~ Love the water with what? making the splash! And the green leave…that might be my favorite.

    • Giiid on

      The splashmaker is my husband, he wanted to have a last summer swim, despite the low water temperature. I was satisfied with staying on the bridge, taking photos. It is a rhubarb leaf, they use to change very beautifully, and this is the time when they do. Thank you for your comment, Dawn.

  2. isathreadsoflife on

    What a gorgeous array of images to celebrate the end of Summer ! You have covered many aspects of this transition in Seasons. I love the Danish skies, the nuts and the rhubarb leaf, the poppies in the folden field could be painted. Of course, the seaside view at sunset with those dark silhouettes is magnificent.

    • Giiid on

      Isa, did you notice that we have almost the same warning posters to prevent accidents when school starts? I suppose it helps, since it is used year after year. Many children go to school by bike, in the beginning with a parent but before too long, they go alone. The bike lanes are fine, but the cross roads are dangerous. Thank you for your nice comment.

  3. Karma on

    Lovely group of photos! I especially like the collection of nuts and seeds.

    • Giiid on

      Thank you Karma. We have a hazel in the garden, that is – we have more and more as the time pass, because they are adding themselves. With all these nuts, there are of course squirrels and birds, and at the moment, they are hiding nuts in the lawn. I wonder how they do when they come to find them again, perhaps their lack of memory is another reason for the many bushes we have. 🙂

  4. Barbara on

    Beautiful shots! The first one of the sunset on the beach especially looks like end of summer to me (I’m not sure why!)

    • Giiid on

      I suppose sunset always will call for thoughts about endings? Thank you for the nice comment, Barbara. 🙂

  5. Sartenada on

    Quite a collection of beautiful photos. One of my favorite photos is the first one.

    • Giiid on

      I think we all like such ending of a day. I was a beautiful evening, warm and quiet. Thank you for your comment.

  6. Maggie on

    Wonderful set of photos. You capture the slowly ending summer beautifully.

    • Giiid on

      Thank you Maggie. Nice to see you are blogging more frequently again. 🙂

  7. Gerry on

    I have not paid sufficient attention to rhubarb leaves. (I make up for it by paying extra close attention to tiny red flowers, especially when they grow in autumn meadows.) Quite a visual poem to the changing season.

    • Giiid on

      The sight of big rhubarb leaves always make me think that they ought to be used for something more than just growing, but what? I´m sure our ancestors would have an answer. At least they are good as photo subjects, particular the stage when they turn red, the real red color, then I am halfway hidden by the leaves when I try to make a good close up. Perhaps an idea for using the leaves; a hiding place? I too like all red leaves, and I will look forward to see which of them you´ll post at your blog, Gerry. By the way, Scott´s next assignments will be something about colors, so I´ll go to the rhubarbs and prepare my contribution. I think my ancestors didn´t have that possibility on their list.

      • Gerry on

        We used to make rhubarb leaf boats for dandelion dolls. I’d forgotten all about that. Too bad we haven’t figured out how to compost them for fuel, eh?

  8. […] Birgitte from Denmark gives us a photo essay from August with the explanation point of a true end of summer…50% Off Sale at a seasonal ice cream stand. […]

  9. […] Birgitte from Denmark gives us a photo essay from August with the explanation point of a true end of summer…50% Off Sale at a seasonal ice cream stand. […]

  10. Scott Thomas Photography on

    Sorry your Summer ends long before the Equinox. You have posted a very telling collection of photos not the least is the pending closing of the ice cream stand. Now, that’s sad!

    • Giiid on

      It surely is. 🙂
      Hope you are all right today despite “Sandy”.

      • Scott Thomas Photography on

        Sandy did not cause very much damage in my area. We are far from the eastern coast which really got hammered. I have a lot of small tree branches to pick up but nothing more…thankfully.


Leave a Reply

