Blue hour tomatoes

Blue hour, – everyone knows about this phenomenon, but how many have given it a second thought? Photos taken right before sunrise or right after sunset shows very clear how the sky turns blue for a short time. Of all blue colours this is one of the very blue.

Blog friend Scott Thomas wrote about “Blue hour” at his blog some time ago, and I became more aware of it, that was interesting. Now Scott didn´t just mention blue hour, he also made it the subject of his 19th. assignment. Joining these assignments is one of the cosy moments of blogging. Danes loves cosy moments. Beside seeing what the other participants comes up with, which always is inspiring, it also is interesting to read the detailed review that Scott makes, mentioning each and every participant. I am impressed every time I see that long list.

Usually I take photos impulsively of whatever touches me, so making a plan about taking “blue hour” photos, long before blue hour has begun, was a bit of a challenge, but I  found that the view from my kitchen window could be the place. I had a plan. When the time came, and all I could see was some black trees, my enthusiasm disappeared, and I had to make a new plan. I decided to wake up early the next day, about 4 o´clock.

Sneaking around with a camera this early, trying not to wake anyone, is one thing, another is what the neighbors might think about an avid amateur photograph / crazy woman pointing her camera against their houses. I hope no one was up that early. The photos were not harrowing. Giving up popped up as a possibility.

As I went into my blue hour kitchen that evening, my eyes were caught by some delicious and very red tomatoes. Ecological, very tasty, and perhaps also photogenic? It wasn´t mentioned at the labeling. I gave it a try and became convinced that blue hours and I are going to have a lot more fun together from now on.
Two times thanks to Scott this time, one for making these fun assignments, and one for showing the way to a new playground.

Now I am curious to see the other submissions.

17 comments so far

  1. Barbara on

    Love it! The tomatoes really show off the blue background! How clever of you. 🙂

    • Giiid on

      Thank you Barbara. 🙂

  2. daoud alahmad on

    Lovely colors and sure taste

  3. milkayphoto on

    Nicely acheived! The third shot is my favorite!

    • Giiid on

      Also mine. Thank you for choosing one. 🙂

  4. Nye on

    Great job giiid. It’s a lot of waiting around for me also since I didn’t want to miss the blue hour.

    • Giiid on

      Thank you. I found that blue hour came a bit later than expected, I suppose it depends on many factors, but at least we are sure that it comes. I think. 😉

  5. isathreadsoflife on

    What a colourful arrangement and great success for your blue hour assignment, Birgitte ! Very well done.

  6. Reggie on

    Wow! I did not know about blue-hour, although I had noticed that sometimes the sky in early-evening photos looks really stunning… but I didn’t realise that is actually a known-about phenomenon. Thank you for teaching us, Giiid.

    • Giiid on

      Hi Reggie. Every credit for teaching about blue hour belongs to Scott Thomas, he is the one who wrote about it from the beginning. I was just joining the assignment. 🙂
      I would love to see a blue hour photo from South Africa one day.

  7. flandrumhill on

    What a surprise combination: tomatoes and a blue hour sky. What a bewitching combination.

  8. deirdrea on

    These are stunning, and I love the spring collage, too. Such beautiful colors!

  9. […] always like to see blue and red colors together and Birgitte did too when she found two interesting subjects early on morning and put them together.  Don’t worry, Birgitte, I sneak around early in the […]

  10. Scott Thomas Photography on

    You’ve done it again! You have a knack for finding simple and colorful compositions which jump off the screen. Well done!

    Oh, and don’t worry about wandering around early in the morning. Your neighbors will get used to it, mine has! 😉

  11. Gerry on

    I don’t know which I’m enjoying more – the red, red tomatoes against the deep blue sky or the mental image of you and Scott creeping about before dawn, peering at the world through your lenses.


Leave a Reply

