Apple

Another apple came my way. Since I learned that some types of apples doesn´t provoke an allergic reaction, -at least not a big one-, I have got a new subject to study closer.  The apples are: Pink Lady, Santana and Elise, and here is the news about that (in Danish) . Pink Lady is available in almost any shop here in Denmark, I haven´t seen the two others. If by any means this news should show up to be wrong, I don´t mind, it works for me. Good taste, good photo subject, and no doctors in sight.

13 comments so far

  1. milkayphoto on

    You are allergic to apples? How unfortunate. But lucky that you’ve found a variety that you can enjoy. Might be time to make a pie! 🙂

    • Giiid on

      if you are allergic to birch pollen, it is likely that you also react to apples, (and other food). Fortunately, the problem disappears when the apples are cooked or baked, so apple cakes are certainly on the menu. Tracy, you make me want to make an apple pie soon, the one with only butter, sugar and flour, drizzled over the apple slices … and maybe a little bit of vanilla ice….melting on the warm pie…

      • flandrumhill on

        I have read that some apples, golden delicious especially, do cause less of a reaction in sensitive people than other types. They are less sweet than the Pink Ladies. Both are quite tasty and beautiful to look at.

        For the past few years I’ve been making apple pie without any sugar, except for a teaspoon sprinkled on the top crust. Apples have been hybridized to be so much sweeter today than they were in the past. You won’t taste the difference, especially if you’re serving the pie with ice cream, which already has sugar in it.

        • Giiid on

          I didn´t know what you tell about Golden delicious, but I looked it up and found very interesting that Pink Lady is a mix of Golden Delicious and ‘Lady Wiliams’. I will definitely try them, – and also your sugar free apple pie. You are so right about the sweetness, I wonder why I never thought about using less sugar. Actually I think I will make one today for the guest we are expecting. Ice cream and apple pie…umnn 🙂 🙂

        • flandrumhill on

          How was your apple pie? Did you miss the sugar?

        • Giiid on

          No, I didn´t miss the sugar at all, that was a very good tip you gave me. 🙂

  2. Nye on

    I guess ‘An apple a day keeps the doctor away’ is not true in your case. I’ve developed many allergies these days and have to be careful in what I eat. It’s good that you found one that you could eat, and good photo opportunity too. 🙂

    • Giiid on

      Nye, I remember your food allergy. I know from myself how irritating it can be always to stick to the same food, especially at restaurants, where there is a chance to taste new and unknown dishes. Apples are easy to see and avoid if necessary, the hidden ingredients is another thing.

      In Denmark, these ingredients has to be mentioned if they appear in food sold in a “closed”: – packaging:

      Glutenholdige kornprodukter – – Cereals containing gluten
      – Krebsdyr – Crustaceans
      – Æg – – Eggs
      – Fisk – – Fish
      – Jordnødder – – Peanuts
      – Soja — Soy
      – Mælk – – Milk
      – Nødder — Nuts
      – Selleri — Celery
      – Sennep – – Mustard
      – Sesamfrø – Sesame seeds
      – Svovldioxid og sulfitter – – Sulphur dioxide and sulphites
      – Lupin – – Lupin
      – Bløddyr – – Molluscs

      Thank you for your comment, Nye.

  3. Gerry on

    Mama Nature has a wicked sense of humor. Allergies can change, and so can fruits and vegetables and grains–all of us adjusting all the time to everything else around us. Dizzying, the number of things to keep track of. I’m glad to hear that you can eat apple pie. I wish you hadn’t made me hungry for it . . .

    • Giiid on

      There are too many things to keep track of, especially for persons who can´t stop keeping track of things, like myself. It´s good that noteboks have become so cheep over the years, though all these books this has given me another thing to keep track of. I am happy about you mentioning that allergy can change, that is a good thing to remember. The habit of keeping track of things probably never change, but I we all have our little quirks.

  4. daoud alahmad on

    Lovely fruits .

  5. isathreadsoflife on

    A luminous piece of apple that almost looks like a pineapple !This is one of my favourite fruits and I also like the Pink Lady sort.Fortunately you can enjoy it without any trouble in sight. This photo in “contre-jour” is superb.

    • Giiid on

      It seems that Pink Lady apples are everywhere, I believe that clever advertising people has been around, 🙂 Thank you Isa, for always sending positive feedback.


Leave a Reply

