Almost abstract

These photos were made as my first contribution to Scott Thomas assignment with the subject  “Abstract photos”. As they aren´t really abstract, my intention is to make some which is, before deadline march 21.  Everyone is welcome to join. Go check it here: http://viewsinfinitum.com/2012/03/07/assignment-18-abstract-photography/

8 comments so far

  1. Guest on

    ! You really can bring life to withering flowers. Beautiful! The sail in #3 makes me long for sailing in the early spring.

  2. Gerry on

    Handcrafted crepe paper bird . . . OK, what I really see is a whole lot of rich, cheerful color, which is very welcome this time of year. You are having fun with this, aren’t you!

    • Giiid on

      Well, a bird it is, I can see that now. Since you have made it come to life, it will only be fair that it is your bird. You have the right to name it and decide whatever one decides about birds. I think it will like to be Gerry´s bird.

  3. flandrumhill on

    I think it’s the black in the first that makes it my favorite. Your images confirm why flowers are so popular globally, yet they also make me wonder if we *really* appreciate them enough.

    • Giiid on

      I was thinking the same thing, when I took these photos of a withered bouquet, just before I removed them from the living room. Seen from a distance, they looked rather sad, but at this closer look, they had a lot of life, just another kind. I suppose we in our daily life don´t like to be reminded of fall and death, and that withered flowers do that. It is a matter of opening ones eyes and mind, and look. But that is a luxury for many people, who are more busy than they really like to have.
      I was glad to read your comment, thank you.

  4. isathreadsoflife on

    Those are great pictures, Birgitte. Various and artistic ways of “abstracting” parts of a flower. My favourite is the last one, a suggestion of patterns that makes you free to imagine more. Very beautiful. This flower is also one of my favourites.

    • Giiid on

      Thank you Isa. I´m going to find something really abstract for the assignment, lets see what I can find. I just saw yours, and they were very inspiring. 🙂


Leave a Reply

