A little music for Scott´s assignment

Once again an assignment has been arranged by Scott Thomas, this time with the subject “The rules of thirds”. Deadline was yesterday, I haven´t had time for joining it, so I will let this musician play a tune while Scott draw the winner of the price, and write the traditional recap. Always an interesting read.

19 comments so far

  1. Scott Thomas Photography on

    Why thank you, Birgitte! I did just that! I will announce the winner soon. BTW, this is an excellent Rule of Thirds example.

    • Giiid on

      🙂 Thank you. I´ll be joining your next assignment.

  2. Reggie on

    I really like the bright colours of the musician, against the muted greys and browns of the background. Well-spotted, Giiid!

    • Giiid on

      Yes, he was a very conspicuous. Good colors, and a good salesman. Thank you. 🙂

  3. Anonymous on

    This is a wonderful photo! Besides the great composition, it has a good story to tell. Thanks for sharing!

    • Barbara on

      (WordPress let me down… I didn’t mean to post that anonymously… -B)

      • Giiid on

        Thank you very much, Mrs. Anonymous.I´m glad to know it was you, Barbara. 🙂

  4. milkayphoto on

    What a colorful character! AND, a good example of using the ‘Rule of Thirds’. Besides having the musician off to the left, his face falls on an intersecting point! Only one very minor crit…if you had waited a millisecond, you would not have had that woman in the background right over his shoulder. 😦

    • Giiid on

      Thank you Tracy, for your feed back, I enjoy to get good advices from you. The woman…what woman? 😉
      As you see, I take your words serious. You were absolutely right about her misplacement.

      One good thing about taking photos, is that it demands a moment of full concentration, having an eye on everything. Light, movements – everything. I am usually too shy to be full concentrated when I “attack” strangers with my camera, I don´t know if they agree and that is distracting me.
      I gave this man a dime, that is why he is looking at me, and that is why I thought he didn´t mind, – but still I was a bit too hasty.
      Your feedback are welcome any time, Tracy. 🙂

  5. Gerry on

    That is an interesting photo. The musician looks like a man who fell into a time machine and was accidentally transported to the 21st century–carrying with him nothing but his hat and the street organ. Fortunately he found a kind soul who gave him some bright ski clothes to wear. Then a nice little girl gave him her stuffed monkey, as she felt she was getting too old to carry it. He’s grateful, of course, but what he really wants is to find someone who can help him get back home. Don’t we all, don’t we all.

    • Giiid on

      I hadn´t expected to find myself laughing at the end of this gray, cold and rainy day, but when a yet untold story falls into place, and the explanations seems obvious and filled with good intentions, – and a time machine – a relieved laughter is a natural reaction.

      Time machine´s has been neglected for a long time, but the arrival of this man could be a sign of increased interest in making them more available. I hope so, because I have a lot to investigate about the past centuries.

      Even my husband found your explanation fully acceptable, though after a while of studying the photo, he changed his mind and believe now that the man is a bankinvester who earns money in his spare time, and that the skiclothes is covering tie and jacket. (He doesn´t know much about time machines.)

      If I see the man again, I´ll study him more closely. Perhaps it is him studying me, who knows? I agree, we are all on the lookout.

  6. drusillah on

    I like this photo! Especially the contrast between his colorful clothes and the gray surroundings. I also am very shy to take photos of strangers, I never do it 😦 But I should! Good for you 🙂

    • Giiid on

      Thank you drusillah. I guess it is more difficult to take photos of people nowadays, because everyone has a camera, and one never know where the photos ends up. In the good old days (!) it was almost an honour to have ones picture taken. One can of course always ask first, I tend to do that. 🙂

  7. Tammy on

    I really like this photo. I want to plop down and listen to him.

    • Giiid on

      🙂 He would be happy to know, – and probably expecting to find at least one more coin in the basket.

  8. Nye on

    giiid, he does brighten the scene and a nice rule of thirds photo.

    • Giiid on

      I wonder what he would say if he was told about his good “rule of thirds” position. 🙂 Thank you Ginger.

  9. isathreadsoflife on

    A very cheerful sight on a grey day and a thoughtful gift to Scott. I wonder what tune he was playing… There used to be an elderly lady in town, she was also colourfully dressed and always carried a parrot on her right shoulder. Sometimes the bird would pick at the fresh wild flowers she decorated her hat with 🙂 A sight most people enjoyed and suported with a small donation. I love the colours of your Winter and your nice composition.

    • Giiid on

      Hi Isa. I can imagine the sight of this lady and the bird, you are so good at creating pictures with words. How wonderful it is, that there are persons who decide not to look like everyone else, and to give some of their colors away. 🙂 Have a nice week-end Isa.


Leave a Reply

