A new and energy efficient year

January is usually a very dark and colorless month. And cold. January this year does not seem to try being different in any way, I would say it tries to please this statistic by being more dark and more boring than the other January´s. On top of this, saving bulbs have taken over the Danish bulb marked, and the EU law made it impossible to get a good old incandescent bulb. A dark winter and saving bulbs…why not just sleep until spring.

You should see how many bulbs we have bought and tested until now, in an attempt to find one with a decent light. I suppose  we will find one some day, the industry comes out with new models all the time, but until then, we are living in the energy efficient dark.

15 comments so far

  1. milkayphoto on

    Lovely colors!

    I agree with you… energy efficient bulbs still have a ways to go but, if holiday LEDs are any indication, the warm tones I seek are coming. (All of my holiday lights are now warm-tone LEDs). It all lies in the cover or coating for the light itself. Not fond of the icy blue….get enough of that in looking outside during the winter months. The solution seems so very easy to me but of course, I know not of what it takes to produce residential lighting. We can simply hope some day, we will have both the warmth AND the efficiency we want and need!

    • Giiid on

      So it is called Holiday light, I didn´t know that. I agree with you, that kind of light looks beautiful, clear and warm. We have LED bulb also, but it is a jungle to find out what kind to buy, and they are very expensive. I´ve heard that there is a new LED bulp comming with a life time at 80 years…one has to choose right, then.

      • milkayphoto on

        No, I wasn’t clear…all I meant was that the new LED’s for holiday decorations (the light strands used on trees, wreaths and garlands, etc. ) now come in both warm and cool tones when originally, it was just the icy whites that leaned towards the cold blue tones.

        Oh, but I do know that we are very happy with the new recessed lights we installed in our basement that are also warm LEDs – I completely forgot about those! Yes, they can be very expensive (I believe the bulbs for the recessed lights were $25.00 each). BUT, we should NEVER have to change a bulb in our basement in our lifetime (package says they last 35 thousand hours). So, I think we will come out ahead in the end.

        Our hope is to slowly make the switch throughout the house. I really haven’t looked into it with any detail. But now that I have remembered our basement lighting, I think there is hope! The brand name on those LEDs is EcoSmart. I’ll have to start doing some research to see if they have good bulbs for my lamps.

  2. Reggie on

    Oh dear, I can feel with you that this is not a nice time of year, Giiid. We too like the old incandescent bulbs, as they have such a lovely warm glow, but they are getting more difficult to find.

    When we buy our energy saving bulbs, we always go for ‘warm white’ light, rather than the ‘cool white’ light. I find the cool white light awful; it makes me feel like I’m in a hospital! It’s a very cold light and too fluorescent for my liking. But the warm white light is gentler on the eyes. Do they sell that in Denmark?

    You know, if you are tired of the cold and the wet and the dark, come to visit South Africa – we have so much sunshine right now, we’ll gladly share it! 🙂

    • Giiid on

      Visiting South Africa and summer sounds very inviting! 🙂 What should we do without our imagination? I have been there many times, with the help from your photos and writing.

      There are so many different types of bulbs now, that it is a big job to find the good ones. Both warm, medium, cold, sleepy yellow – all kinds of light. Too many, I would say. 😉

  3. Barbara on

    It’s good to see so much color in your collage! Our winters are long and dark, too, but I think yours may be more so. Our incandescent bulbs are also being phased out (no more 100 watt bulbs this year) so we’ve been stockpiling them, waiting until we see a good replacement come along. And… I’ve been using a Philips goLite Blu this year – hard to say whether it’s had any effect.
    Stay warm!

    • Giiid on

      We have an energylight lamp too, also a Philips. Turning the lamp on a dark winterday is a good way to remember what will come, before we know it. It is amazing, that this very white light which can light up a room in winter, will be totally invisible on a summerday. I am impressed by the difference every time I see it.

  4. montucky on

    Yes, it is a dark time of year, but warmed by the light of our fire here. We have been using mostly compact fluorescents for several years already and so we’re used to them by now, but I still look forward to the longer daylight hours.

    • Giiid on

      Oh, well you can enjoy the cozy light from a fire, nothing is better than that light and the warmth from it. The colder and darker it is outside, the better it feels to sit there.. 🙂

  5. Gerry on

    Your collages always cast a lovely light – very welcome on a gray morning.

    I loathe the “light” bulbs that are being forced on us even though they provide a poor quality of light, are hideously expensive, do not last anywhere near as long as advertised, and contain mercury.

    Whew. I feel better now.

    • Giiid on

      Another new word for me to learn, “loathe”. Thank you. I’ll immediately look for something to use it for, – bulb has been taken, but I´ll come of something before this comment is finished…I know; I loathe wet socks, – tiny wet spots on socks-, because one will constantly be reminded of the difference between the wet and the dry part, and have to make a calculation about how fast they will dry, or if it is better to change socks. I don´t loathe ( correct?) socks which are totally wet, in this case one can relax and change socks without further thinking. (Have to spare the thinking for my blog comments.)

  6. isathreadsoflife on

    When I look at your bright and energy-filled mosaic, I forget about the darkness and extreme coldness of this month of January. A wonderful array of colours. We are also using energy saving bulbs, the warm-white sort. Little by little – because of the high cost – every room will be equipped with them. The light of candles does bring this cosy feeling that no bulb can provide. Maybe it will help you getting through your dark Winter…unless of course you prefer to sleep until Spring ;))

    • Giiid on

      Candles are very cozy to use, and are used in many homes in Denmark, it´s a matter of style, some people use them all the time. There are shops only selling candles, I don´t know if you have that too?

      Are you forced to use the energy bulb´s like we are? As soon as people started to buy a lot of the old bulb`s, just before they were fased out, there suddenly were a lot to buy, – but they didn´t last long. I guess some compagnies got a good idea, and hurried to produce as many as they could, though the quality was very poor.

  7. Nye on

    giiid, I wouldn’t mind hibernating in the winter and wake up in Spring, just a wishful thinking. 🙂 Your photo mosaic has lots of ying and yang energy.

    • Giiid on

      I haven´t thought about the ying and yang energy, but I like to hear about that. I will have it in mind at my next collage. 🙂


Leave a Reply

