Strange Danish behaviour around New Year

I´ve just heard from CNN that Danes enjoy themself at New year eve by throwing dishes at the frontdoor of their neighbors, – an act that are supposed to mean friendship *1)  If you should ever be celebrating a New Year here, do not try to make friends by throwing dishes, you will get a very lonely evening, and a lot of enemies.

If you avoid the temptation of throwing your dishes, and instead of this decide to use them for a New Year menu, don´t make   “Kale with sprinkled sugar and cinnamon with white sauce”, *2) people will use any excuse to leave your party, and you´ll have to eat it all by yourself. Bon appetite.

*1) http://edition.cnn.com/2011/12/31/world/americas/new-year-traditions/index.html?hpt=hp_c2
*2) http://www.123newyear.com/newyear-traditions/

Marzipan ring cake and champagne  is a must at 12 o´clock.  That is for sure.

16 comments so far

  1. Gerry on

    Now, see, this is why I come here to learn about proper behavior in Denmark rather than trusting CNN. Marzipan ring cake sounds like a good idea no matter where a person might be. And kale belongs on pizza with tomatoes and peppers and maybe a little bacon. No sugar.

    • Giiid on

      Definitely no sugar!
      Quite surprising and funny to hear about the strange new year habits we are suppose to have. A Danish newspaper have searched for an explanation, and found out that the famous author H.C. Andersen have described such custom in 1852; to throw clay pots in the meaning to make noice enough to make the people inside open the door and invite for a meal. We don´t have clay pots anymore, and who knows if the neighbor would invite for kala…with sugar…no, this tradition has to continue it´s life in a fairytale.

  2. Sartenada on

    Hello, I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award. Congratulations! Check my page for nomination.

    Versatile Blogger Award

    • Reggie on

      Oh! That is so cool, Giiid – congratulations on receiving this award!

      • Giiid on

        Thank you Reggie. 🙂

    • Giiid on

      Sartenade, thank you so much, you are very kind. I´ll take a closer look at the rules and make a post later on. Thank you! 🙂

  3. Tammy on

    I agree with Gerry. Kale and sugar do not mix in my kitchen.

    • Giiid on

      Tammy, I came to think of a recipe which include sugar. In very old days, curly kale was one of the only a way to keep getting vitamines through a long winter, curly kale isn´t affected by frost. It is the oldest type of kale we have here in the northern countries, and it have been used in many different ways. One of them is Chopped Curly kale in a sauce thickened with roux. This variant is served with meat, and often with glazed ham. 🙂 Thank you for your comment.

  4. Barbara on

    How funny! I’ll take the marzipan, please!

    • Giiid on

      It is funny and sometimes enriching to read about oneself seen from the outside. Thank you Barbara. 🙂

  5. isathreadsoflife on

    Funny and strange indeed 😉 I would have enjoyed marzipan cake and champagne though. We usually have panettone (Italian made cake) and champagne. No noisy clay pots against our door but fireworks that made you go out and look. A lovely festive picture.
    Happy, healthy, joyful New Year, dear Birgitte.

    • Giiid on

      Thank you and the same to you, Isa. I am looking foreward to a good year of blogging.

  6. Dinesh on

    Hi! Giid 🙂 Wishing you a very very happy new year mam 🙂 Hope you had a great time …
    It’s been a long time I’m visiting your blog..urs posts are as beautiful as always. I’m not getting time to update my blog, I’ve quit my previous company and started my own small design studio at my Home 🙂

    Good luck and take care
    Best
    Dinesh Singh
    Web & UI Designer,
    http://www.amberegg.com
    Skype: dinesh1201
    Twitter: http://twitter.com/#!/ambereggDesign
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/dinesh1201
    Cell: +91-9936872095
    INDIA.

  7. Nye on

    I’m glad that those behaviors were not true. Does cake and champagne not make you get drunk faster? I think I would like cake and coffee much better.

    • Giiid on

      Oh no, the champagne and cake is served at 12 o´clock, – when the new year starts, I don´t think champagne makes any difference at that time. What do you serve at 12 o´clock?

  8. deirdrea on

    Oh, Birgitte, I am so glad to be visiting your blog again — this really made me laugh (and I really needed it!) And what a delicious picture — I am going to get up and make myself some dinner. Which definitely will not include kale with sugar (YUCK!). I love kale, but in colcannan, or something good like that. That marzipan cake does look good, though!

    About the dishes….it does sound weird. But I know that in some places (Scotland, I think?), you are supposed to open all the doors and windows of your house at midnight, and bang pots and pans to make a very loud noise. I believe it is supposed to frighten away any evil spirits that might be hanging around. Which is much better than alienating the neighbors by breaking crockery. Though still a bit strange…

    As for me, I think champagne corks make quite enough noise!

    Happy New Year, and many more!


Leave a Reply

