December 17

It´s time for making one of the very important side dishes to the main meal at Christmas eve, the red cabbage, “Rødkål”.

Red cabbage is served warm with the meat, but it is possible to make it in good time and then warm it when the day come.

It doesn´t look as colorful when boiled, but it taste very very good, sweet and a little sour.

And it can be used at open sandwiches…for example as I did here with liver paté.

4 comments so far

  1. Sumire on

    Red cabbege! I also sometimes cook with white wine, butter and lemon juice. How do you cook? Teach me your recipe!

    • Giiid on

      Hi Sumire. 🙂

      Your recipe sound very delicious. I imagine the taste being a bit like ginger?

      My mother used to make red cabbage a week before Christmas, and place it in a bowl in the fridge. More than once, she had to make a new portion, because Nisser had eaten most of it before Christmas.

      I asked her now and then how she made it, but she used to answer: “Oh, this is so easy to make, you don´t need a recipe, just add red currant juice and cook it for some time”. Neither her or I realized that the interesting part of any easy recipe is the personal touch, not the recipe itself. If I had asked her for her personal touch, though, she would have laughed about my joking.

      I have the recipe from her old cooking book, which still leave the reader with some questions.

      1 red cabbage ( 1 and 1/2 kg)
      50 gram butter
      sugar, salt, vinegar, and red currant juice

      Boil for an hour.

      My mother used to change vinegar to lemon, when cooking, – all in all I think this recipe looks pretty much like yours, don´t you?

  2. isathreadsoflife on

    Birgitte, your cabbage has a psychedelic look in the first picture and it looks very tasty in the last one. I would love to eat it this way, on some rye bread. I don’t cook it often but eat it as a salad with coriander and cumin. One of my favourite veges in Winter.

    • Giiid on

      It sound delicious. I have made it with walnuts and apples, also a nice way to eat the healthy cabbage.


Leave a Reply

