December 7

Nisser in all shapes and sizes are for sale in December. My mother had an eye for things with a special appeal,  for example this little nisse-girl and nisse-boy, who I used to see in her house around Christmas. They now lives in my house.

This is a simple model partly made with a pipe cleaner, old style, probably too simple to a modern nisse consumer. In my childhood they were everywhere, but that is of course a long time ago.

This nisse wife is joining a nisse party at a mall. I don´t know what she is doing with that white thing, perhaps it is list for wishes…it reminds me of some kind of pasta, but I´ve never heard of nisser eating italian food.

 

 

7 comments so far

  1. Reggie on

    Ohhh! Cute!I

    I also like the little girl and boy.

    And I rather like that handmade one too, it looks like it could be a fun thing to make with one’s kids or grandkids when they are still small and young enough to *want* to make things with their own hands.

    • Giiid on

      I believe that handmade and taking time to make things will be more and more appreciated. At the moment, lots of people are studying mindfullness and how to be aware of this very moment and not something that has happened or will happen in the future. Could be a study in this, producing some nisser.

  2. TheDailyClick on

    I actually like the handmade one best 🙂

    • Giiid on

      Since you like it best, I have been studying it a little closer, and I am close to start trying to make one. I will show you if I do.

      • Reggie on

        Great! We look forward to seeing that!

  3. Nye on

    I’m sure these bring many good memories for you. I love the second image of the candle. This makes me wonder now if they sell Nissei around here.

    • Giiid on

      If they don´t, perhaps we should make an export/import of them. 🙂


Leave a Reply

