Doorstep

…on a wet day, though any weather that allows wearing rubber boots are good weather to me. I like to wear them in the garden, they protect against all the insects.

14 comments so far

  1. Reggie on

    What an intriguing combination of images – a doormat, wellington boots, and a basket of freshly picked cherries! It tells such a delightful story, Giiid.

    • Giiid on

      I´m glad to hear you like it, Reggie. A daily life snapshot, nothing special, but sometimes that can be a relief to look at, I think. So many pictures are sent our way, all day long, from advertising,TV, newspapers, they fight about our attention. More colors, more clever text, more everything. Sometimes it is just too much, and a doorstep photo can be enough. By the way, this year have been a very good year for cherries, we never have had so many. Usually, the birds eat the all, this year I managed to pick some while the birds ate as they used to.

  2. milkayphoto on

    You get to pick FRESH cherries?? Lucky you! 🙂

    I like your red boots..they are whimsical and fun which is how I imagine you to be. 🙂

    • Giiid on

      Thank you Tracy, for a nice compliment.
      Cherry trees are quite common in gardens here, and actually I have two trees, lucky me, sure, but the birds are far more lucky because I have allergy and can´t eat cherries! LOL

  3. Scott Thomas Photography on

    Red just grabs you here with the bland colored utilitarian door matte and steps. Nice idea to add a a splash of red on either side framing the subject of the photo’s title.

    • Giiid on

      Thank you, Scott. This is actually not really an idea, just how it happened to look, at the moment I took the photo – I use the boots when I am gardening in high grass, which I often do. I am not living in a jungle, but a part of my garden are reserved wild growing things. (Interesting place.)

  4. Gerry on

    I can just see you in those boots, trotting across the dewy grass to the cherry tree. I like the picture you made, and I like the picture it made in my mind! Enjoy the cherries.

    • Giiid on

      Thank you, Gerry. As mentioned to Tracy, the cherries are for the birds (or family and guests if they are fast enough).The sight of big pigeons trying to sit on a tiny branch, in attempt to eat even the most “impossible to get” cherries, can do it as replaced pleasure. It seems like if they are surprised every time they fall. They surely have IQ competition from the crows, of which we have many. They throw nuts at the street from great hight, and expect passing cars to break them, I have seen this several times. Interesting, though hopefully they don´t learn too quick. Ordinary bird level IQ is fine. We don´t want any Hitchcock episodes.

  5. isathreadsoflife on

    Lovely colourful still life that suggests the joy of picking cherries, even under the rain maybe ? A very nice composition, Birgit.

    • Giiid on

      Thank you, Isa. There are probably some instincts which rewards any picking of berries, at least I surely enjoy picking them even I don´t eat cherries because of allergy. For a moment one are far back in time, happy to have found something to eat, at least I imagine so. 🙂

  6. cindydyer on

    Hi Birgitte! I’m definitely making your necklace for you in red—you love that color, apparently! I’ve got all my beads picked out from my stash and will get started on it this coming week! 🙂

    • Giiid on

      I am smiling now! Yes, I really like red, Cindy, to be more precisely something like 032 and 185, – you know what this means 🙂
      It is so exciting that you will make a necklace to me, I´ll be so proud to wear it and to tell about where it comes from. I have to join a lot of dinners and parties from now on.

  7. Nye on

    That is one cool looking boots, mine is black and boring looking. It looks like the cherry tree appreciates the rains, the cherries look so juicy.

    • Giiid on

      Oh, but black boots are elegant!
      The rain was good for the cherries, but actually it has been a good year for most kind of berries and fruit, and all the seeds which fall from trees. This happens usually after a warm summer the prior year, we call it for a “Oldenår”, I can´t translate this word, but “olden” is the seeds from oak and beech, “år” means ” year”. The nature around you probably have the same cycle. The squirrels in my garden are very busy now, digging and hiding some for the winter.


Leave a Reply

