Spøttrup castle

Tracy, Reggie and every other princess or prince of mind around the blogsphere, let me and my handsome knight show you the medieval castle Spøttrup in Denmark.

Did you like it? To be honest, I didn´t mind to go back to reality, after a very interesting tour around the castle.  It is after all difficult if not impossible to feel how it must have been to live under such circumstances, without all the modern facilities we take for granted, heating for instance. Or a bathroom…medical care and what about blogging…no, all we can do is try to imagine, so that´s what we did.

28 comments so far

  1. Reggie on

    Ooooh, you went out and toured another castle to show us! Thank you, Giiid. And I love the picture of you and your dashing knight!😉

    You know, I agree with you – without carpets and rugs and wall hangings, extra blankets and hot water bottles on the beds, and running water and a crackling fire in the grate, and horses and chickens and cows outside, and central heating and wireless internet and all those things we take for granted now, I would not like to live here permanently.

    But imagine ADDING all those things, hm? Would you move in then?😉

    • Giiid on

      I have to admit that I took these photos during our vacation in Jutland last month, but you and Tracy inspired me to post them now.
      I am not sure I would move in, even I had the all the things you mention, perhaps if I had a staff of housekeepers…and a good internet connection. Actually one could live on a desert island having a good internetconnection, but why not having a castle, then…so I suppose the answer is yes.🙂

  2. Nye on

    Thanks giiid for the tour of the castle. I’m not sure if I would like living in that era, how would we ever get our work done without the computer and Internet.😉

    • Giiid on

      So true, Ginger.🙂

  3. Montucky on

    What a great tour of an interesting and historical place! It must have been something to live there in its day! I can hardly imagine what that was like, but certainly enjoyed the tour!

    • Giiid on

      I am glad you did, thank you for telling me, Montucky. I was inspired by Sartenada to show a lot of photos of the same subject.🙂

  4. isathreadsoflife on

    Dear Lord and Lady of the Castle… thank you for this wonderful welcome into your cosy home😉 With such thick walls, surely there is no need for central heating ? This is a beautiful visit I enjoyed very much, as well as your historical portrait. Those coloured patterns on the castle, I suppose it has to do with the way the bricks were layered ? A great post, thank you Birgitte.

    • Giiid on

      You are right, of course, the thick walls will keep the warm inside, and people probably were better (warmer) dressed than what we see in romantic movies.🙂 There is some pattern at the walls, but what you refer to is a technical problem, which I still don´t know how to solve. I am not surprised that it was you who mentioned it first, because you are used to notice patterns. I have asked Scott and Tracy, perhaps they know the answer, it is interesting to learn something new. Thank you Isa.

  5. milkayphoto on

    What a wonderful tour by such a grand Lord and Lady!🙂

    All the (modern) things we take for granted were missing from everywhere at the time, not just the castles. I wouldn’t like living as the pilgrims did nor as these folks did, but, this lovely home, furnished and outfitted for today’s times? I would feel like a queen, indeed.🙂

    • Giiid on

      Tracy, thank you.
      Have you any idea about how I can avoid the distortions, caused by all the small bricks? I have tried many things, but none of them works. I asked Scott, and wrote about it in my answer to him. I have posted a detail to show how the original looks.

      • milkayphoto on

        The only time I’ve experienced such distortions is when I would photograph canvas paintings for my giclee printing clients. I would see it right away on my LCD screen and found by changing the angle of the camera – pretty much making sure the camera lens was positioned straight on to the subject (not angled up nor down, nor side to side) could I avoid them. Perhaps this trick would work for you?

        • Giiid on

          Interesting, I have never thought about that problem. I will be aware of it, I think I have to go out and study some walls. Thank you for answering Tracy.

  6. Gerry on

    Those are evocative images. The double moat is pretty ingenious. Crafty Danes.

    • Giiid on

      That’s great, Gerry, I see that you have read about the castle at the website. They made a double moat as written in the text, and succeded almost to hide the castle. It sounds a bit unrealistic, that a castle can disappear at such a flat ground, but I can tell you, that when we came to see it, we had been driving some time and the area was more and more open. We reached a sign, a big parking place close to a little area with trees. Where is the castle, I asked a bit annoyed, because I had been looking forward to see a castle, not a ruin. Apparently a very low one. After some walking, we saw a bit of the roof. And suddenly it was there, the castle. But still two moats to force. Yes, they were clever.

  7. Scott Thomas Photography on

    Remember, back then this was considered the best. I do recall from my visit to the London Tower that they did have bathrooms of a sort which used gravity.

    Are these the bricks you were taking about, Birgitte? Looks like you had some interesting distortions. Does it look like that in the original size, too? I think this is called mustache distortion (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Distortion_%28optics%29). I could be wrong here. Tracy?

    • Giiid on

      Thank you for the link, Scott, I will read it carefully. Yes, this is the distortion I asked you about. There are no problem at the original size, which is 3776 x 2520, I have added a detail) but as soon as I start minimizing it, the distortion start. I am curious about how others solve this problem, I have seen photos of the castle which is fine….perhaps my photo got enchanted at the castle…let´s see if Tracy has an idea.

      • Scott Thomas Photography on

        Okay…it is not a lens issue. It is a re-sizing issue. I get this when re-sizing patterns. In fact, the building on this post looked like your bricks when I went too small with it.

        http://stphoto.wordpress.com/2011/05/04/first-womens-rights-convention/

        What do you use to re-size your photos?

        • Giiid on

          Oh I see, that photo looks fine even it is small bricks.
          “Microsoft picture it”, “save a copy for web”. It is a little software, which I use for simple things, because it is fast. I use Photoshop for more serious matters🙂 It is possible to choose settings in that Microsoft software, I have tried many combinations but it didn´t change anything.
          What did you do to make that photo so fine? Thank you for spending time on this.

        • Giiid on

          answer 2:
          I have made a copy – and posted it – in Photoshop now, it works perfect. Now I only have to understand what the difference is between the first one and the Photoshop one.🙂

        • milkayphoto on

          Looks like you’ve lost some detail in the Photoshop version. I prefer the colors and sharpness of the original one.

        • Giiid on

          I see what you mean, Tracy, I appreciate that you are telling me. In Photoshop – “save to web”, there are two settings; choosing the first one is resulting in an image like the very first I made, choosing the second one will make it “soft” – with the problem you describe. I wonder how that is solved in common… I guess the level of equipment has a lot to say, but there must be some settings I havent seen yet. I´ve been aware of new secrets of making good images today, thanks to you and Scott, I´ll study this closer.🙂 (Are you using Photoshop?)

        • milkayphoto on

          Yes, I use Photoshop. CS4, currently. I resize them in phoptoshop first (they are too large otherwise) and then ‘save to web or devices’. My images do not change in appearance when I do this.

        • Scott Thomas Photography on

          You are on the right track. The Microsoft product is not up to the task when confronted with small patterns. There are many tutorials on the web about how to use PhotoShop to resize photos for the web if you are still not sure.

        • Giiid on

          Tracy, I’ll try that. Thank you very much to both you and Scott, for sharing your knowledge. It is great to have helpful blogfriends.🙂

  8. Guest on

    This page http://www.svi.nl/AntiAliasing is about aliasing in images.

    • Giiid on

      Thank you, Guest.🙂

  9. erikatakacs on

    Love the castle, so different from the East European ones I am accustomed to.

  10. sartenada on

    I loved the castle tour. I have always been in love of castles; they are living history and are telling stories.

    Thank You for this post.


Leave a Reply

