Kaizen

Do you recognize the situation, that the level of ambitions increases similar to the time you have been THINKING of having the work or project done? In the end it is almost impossible to reach such level of quality, and the result is dangerously near to be given up, – which is both annoying and a relief. I must admit that I have been there more than once.

There are probably dozens of methods and good advices about how to avoid this exhausting way of not doing things.  They are more or less just another way to postpone in my opinion, but never mind, I´ll recommend a book written by Robert Maurer, called KAIZEN. In this book he tells about how to overcome  big projects by doing very small steps. I like the small steps a lot!  He explains  that even it has a Japanese name, the idea about the system was originally born in USA.

I can´t tell if I am a good student, but I think it is a good sign that I have decided to make this post with fresh photos from my morning-garden, though I still haven´t answered all the nice comments I got at my previous posts. I´ll be back for this later. This statement is probably not quite the Kaizen style!
Untill then, I´ll thank you here. This might be Kaizen…I must find time to read more in this book… 😉


					
19 comments so far

  1. Reggie on

    Fantastic photos, Birgitte – particularly impressed with the bumblebee – excellent timing to capture it on the flower like that.

    • Giiid on

      The bumblebees are kindly enough very slow when they work, so I was able to make the camera ready. One thing I was wondering about, while studying the bees, was how they remember which flower they already have been collecting pollen at, – or is that flower now “empty”? A morning walk in the garden can cause big questions 🙂

      • Reggie on

        Giggle… actually, Birgitte, I have also wondered about that. I guess that they ‘smell’ whether a flower is empty? I wonder whether any of your readers will know.

        Yes, bumble bees tend to be more laid-back and calmer than our bees, which are always in a hurry.

        • Giiid on

          Yes, lets wait and see. 🙂

  2. Scott Thomas Photography on

    Grand advice indeed. That is the only way I will tackle a project. Trying to take something as a whole to do at once will only bring one to frustration and to abandon it.

    Love the bee photo! Truly, a species who understands Kaizen.

    • Giiid on

      Well, that was a fine way to connect photos and text – a kaizen-wise bee. I do admire people who can make big projects bit by bit. Beside being able to see the big picture, I suppose that ones patience has something to say too. And of course a belief in succes. Oh, that was many things, too many for a Kaizen mind. I´ll start with the book.

  3. montucky on

    Beautiful photos, especially the one with the bee!

    • Giiid on

      The bumble bees are such nice little fellows, I think. Having an eager photographer almost touching them doesn´t seem to be distracting, which of course makes it far more easy to take a clear photo. I use to run away when I see a wasp, but with the humbl bees it is the opposite situation. I´m almost following them. Their humming is a nice sound of spring, they are the first collectors here. Thank you for your nice comment.

  4. Gerry on

    All the photos are fine and fresh to look at, but I’m especially taken with that dandelion. Now I believe I’ll go take a couple of little bites out of the big project that weighs on my mind.

    • Giiid on

      Sorry for being late with my answer! The Kaizen system haven´t worked yet, I´m still being disturbed by my very long lists and ideas, I see that you understand.
      The dandelion appreciate your sympathy, no one else likes it, except of the rabbit of course.

  5. isathreadsoflife on

    This daisy surely takes its time waking up… this is an exquisite shot. The step by step approach seems to be the more sensible one but as you say, patience is needed and the sure feeling that one is on the good way ! I like your kaizen post.

    • Giiid on

      Now that I think of it; making quilts like you do, is actually a very good example of how effective the step by step methode is. Many small pieces become one big and usefull carpet. Thank you for your comment, Isa.

  6. cindydyer on

    Great photos, Birgitte!

  7. Eden on

    These are lovely! Good stuff 🙂

    • Giiid on

      Hi Eden, thank you for your comment. I have seen your blog and your many beautiful photos, I will surely visit it again.

  8. Nye on

    giiid, your bumblebee looks so huge in that picture, they must be bigger in Denmark. 🙂 Love that shot.

    • Giiid on

      🙂 They are huge yes, about 15-20 mm, as far as I have read. Is that bigger than yours? Luckily they are almost harmless.

      • Nye on

        It looks bigger, I’ve yet a courage to measure the one we have here. 🙂


Leave a Reply

