Light and shadow

13 comments so far

  1. burstmode on

    Oh! But I do like this. when I saw the title, I knew I would. I love the feel and the abstract nature of the photo.

    • Giiid on

      I realize more and more how important the mix of light and shadow are to our feeling of be at ease, and in contact with something essential. Not that this is surprising, just interesting.
      It´s fun and challenging to take photos of shadows, because they are so momentary, and “hold this” surely not an option. Now or possibly never, – though I have returned the next day to look for a good shadow I´d seen but not had the time to catch.
      I´m glad you like it. Thank you for commenting, Burstmode.

  2. Scott Thomas Photography on

    The tools of a photographer…light and shadow.

    • Giiid on

      Yes, that’s right Scott. We are lucky to have a hobby so easy to practice. ( I didn´t say anything about it being easy to get satisfactory results.):-)

  3. milkayphoto on

    Simple and elegant. Check! 🙂

    • Giiid on

      Like your comment. :-)Thank you Tracy.

  4. Gerry on

    The abstract b/w light and shadow pictures make me uneasy, and I can’t for the life of me figure out why. There’s something of the shape-shifter about them, and meaning keeps slipping in and out of my grasp. I am unsettled.

    • Giiid on

      Gerry, don´t worry anymore; your feeling of something being wrong just prove that you are a real princess, (The Princess and the Pea) or perhaps a natural child…because this photo has been rotated 90 degrees, and so has light and shadows. Turn your screen/head 90 degrees, and everything will be all right again.

      • Gerry on

        This is a good lesson for me. I’ve become too rigid in my dotage. I need to look at things from different angles and it will all come clear. The really interesting thing is that you knew at once what my difficulty was. You would be a fine teacher–or perhaps are one already!

  5. Nye on

    I see that light and shadow can create such interesting shapes. The image looks very calming to me.

    • Giiid on

      Hi Ginger. I think it is fun to look for pattern in shadows, sometimes they are really decorative, and of course changing all the time, which can be some of a challenge for the camera. I had a teacher in art class, who tought us to look at the shadows instead of the object we wanted to draw, and then draw these. The object would appear “by itself” then. Very interesting.

  6. isathreadsoflife on

    So interesting ! I felt a little bit like Gerry and I never imagined this picture could be different. Or what it could be. Stairs ? This is a wonderful way to look at things differently. Light and shadows play with our imagination. Very well done, giiid.

    • Giiid on

      Yes Isa, it is stairs. The surface is old and broken, but I like this structure, it has so many tones. In a way I prefer the photos to be as they were made, and not manipulated in any way, but on the other hand, I sometimes see pictures which have become interesting by having a bit of a makeover, so perhaps I will try a bit myself now and then. It depends of what the photo is supposed to tell. Thank you for having been wondering about the photo 🙂


Leave a Reply

