What was the name of…

I don´t remember the name of the toy with mirrors and pearls, which make new images if it is moved. In my childhood, this was indeed a magic world, sometimes the pattern was so beautiful that they had to be shown to a parent or sibling, but was that ever possible? The quality that made it possible to create such wonders was the same quality that made it impossible to hand the toy over and share the joy. One tiny movement, and the picture had changed. If everything has a point, this one might be either to learn total muscle control or the fact that we never see things exactly the same. Sometimes almost, but never exactly. This picture was made the same way, almost by itself, and I´m showing it to you because I got surprised. I was making a mosaic, and had two copies of the same photo on the screen. Suddenly I had more…and here we are. But what was that toy called…?

14 comments so far

  1. thedailyclick on

    It’s a caleidoscope (not sure if this is how it’s spelled)
    I like your image, such pretty pinks.

    • Giiid on

      Oh yes, that´s right. I´ve just looked it up in the dictionary, kaleidoscope is the right spelling. Thank you, Michaela, if this was a competition you could claim your price now.

  2. milkayphoto on

    The word you are seeking is…Kaleidoscope! 🙂

    And YES, you have captured that exact feeling with this image!

    • Giiid on

      Such a fast answer, too, second price to you, Tracy, – a bonus price for the correct spelling then. 🙂

  3. Reggie on

    Yes yes yes! I love kaleidoscopes! I had one when I was little, it was suuuch fun to play with it…. it seemed like there was an infinite number of patterns it could generate.

    I remember breaking one open once, because I thought it would be FULL of little coloured beads and things, and being soooo disappointed when it wasn’t even a handful. I was very little then. 🙂

    • Giiid on

      Oh how sweet that you once opened it, I can imagine your disappointment! I too was once surprised (and probably disappointed) to see how little there was inside. Thank you for commenting, Reggie, almost at the same time as Tracy, which would give you a shared second place in what is not a competition. But if it was, you would have a bonus for examine a kaleidoscope very detailed.

  4. Scott Thomas Photography on

    Kaleidoscopes are fun toys. My sister-in-law has some antique ones I love to look through. Looks like your digital kaleidoscope works just fine.

    • Giiid on

      I can imagine that that your sisters antique kaleidoscopes are more beautiful than what we can find in plastic today. It could be fun to see a photo of them, and of course of the pattern if that was possible.

  5. Gerry on

    I think you should be pleased that you made the most of a happy accident.

    Now you have me thinking about a giant kaleidescope on the beach, filled with whatever the day brings . . . that could be a very interesting experiment. It would not, however, be anywhere near as beautiful as your exuberant rose petals!

    • Giiid on

      A giant kaleidoscope at the beach is a brilliant idea! It should be possible to produce a solid construction, that let people put in whatever they find…and empty it again. You already have the beach, and as far as I have read at your blog, also a lot of artists and productive people around you. This would be a lovely project. I´m voting for it.

  6. isathreadsoflife on

    Absolutely delightful ! I remember this toy and the magic it brought, each second different. The impermanence of time and ever changing perception of things around us is what it makes me think of too. What a wonderful rose !

    • Giiid on

      Isa, that is a wise and interesting association, good to think about. Thank you for this thought.

  7. Nye on

    If you didn’t say, I thought it was the most interesting looking flower I have ever seen. I like the effect.

    • Giiid on

      🙂 I agree, Ginger, if this was a flower, it would surely cause attention. I would like to have a bouquet then. It was fun to make, you should try, you have so many beautiful flower photos.


Leave a Reply

