Encouraging collage

Yesterday, while I was making this collage, my Japanese friend Sumire “called” me via Skypechat, writing this short message; “Earthquake.”
Once again everything around her was shaking, – her cat went under the sofa, but she herself kept on chat-writing with me. Skype chat makes it possible to do other things, while waiting for answers, so I used the waiting time to finish the collage and send her a copy, thinking about how different conditions we have to adjust to. There have been many earthquakes around us lately, but the people in New Zealand and Japan seems to have a strong mind and forces to overcome the disaster in a very calm way.  I surely would have been  under the sofa before the cat.
Sumire found that the collage was encouraging, which I was very glad to hear, and it immediately motivated me to post it at my blog. Perhaps encourage others who might need it because of a long winter or a boring day. Or something else, – hopefully less serious than in Japan and New Zealand.

22 comments so far

  1. kiwidutch on

    Yes, it’s true, you have to be stoical about things you can’t change or you will just collapse in tears and never get up again.
    Both New Zealand and Japan are not just experiencing the odd after-shock, there are dozens of them day and night. Some are big, some are small, all of them are stressful.

    As long as we constantly remind both nations that we have not forgotten about them and they are not alone, our strength will be passed on, and that’s how they manage to cope.
    Bravo Sumire for not trembling when the earth trembles beneath you, You are strong, Japan is strong, Christchurch and New Zealand are strong and we send the strength of friendship and good wishes to help you all stay strong.

    • Giiid on

      Thank you Kiwidutch, for a nice long comment, very much appreciated.

  2. milkayphoto on

    How amazing that you two were able to remain on skype during that time. The comfort it must have brought her, to simply know she wasn’t alone, that someone was there, holding her hand, so to speak.

    Beautiful collage, Birgitte.

    • Giiid on

      Thank you Tracy. We were by luck at our computers at the same time, a strange feeling to be close and far away at the same time, when something serious happens, like this. I think Sumire was more calm than me. 🙂

  3. Gerry on

    The opportunity to make that kind of connection across time and space is a great gift. It is a fine thing to have someone hold your hand when your world is trembling. It is a fine thing to be able to do that for another person. Thank goodness we have art to fall back on.

    • Giiid on

      I agree in everything you wrote Gerry, as usual, so no further comment than a thank you, except for an appology for being very late with my answers.

  4. Scott Thomas Photography on

    It sure brightened my day as the wait for real color in my world is still in the future. I heard about the quake in Japan almost immediately from people on twitter. The Earth is still recovering for the big quake last month. I sure hope it settles down so Japan can continue in its recovery efforts.

    • Giiid on

      Twitter is surely a useful tool in an emergency situation like this, and in other matters where information needs to come out fast.
      Did the collage brighten your day? I am so glad to know. Thank you for telling me.

  5. burstmode on

    I am glad for your friend. It has been stressful trying to catch up with some of mine.

    I must say, though…when it comes to collage, no one does them as well as you. I love how you mix the colors and textures.

    • Giiid on

      So you had to look for and wait for answers too. When the possibility of an easy internet/phone connection for some reason isn´t an option, distances suddenly seems so enormous.

      Thank you for your encouraging compliment, you make me very proud.

  6. isathreadsoflife on

    Artistic and thoughtful, a very beautiful gift in time of need.I agree with burstmode, your collages are unique Birgitte. Shades, patterns, textures blend in so naturally but I know it needs much care and an artistic sense to create such special collages. Thank you.

    • Giiid on

      I appreciate your kind words Isa, you have a long experience of making collage/quilt/patchworks, and know about the procces of making many small bits into one big. Sometimes it takes time, sometimes a collage is almost made by it self. I think it depends of how clear one has understood the “message” or story that are ready to be told. The comments I get have tought me that good results often are those who have been made just by following instinct. Feedback on those collages are very useful, as it can be difficult to evaluate things that didn´t cause sweat and tears. I have been surprised many times, when reading a positive comment.

  7. Nye on

    giiid, your collage is very beautiful, bold and very inspiring.

    • Giiid on

      Thank you very much, Ginger,

  8. Tammy McLeod on

    Very beautiful and I love that story that you and your friend connected and she found it encouraging.

    • Giiid on

      Thank you Tammy. My collage was not really alive before I got in touch with my friend, and by this got inspiration to finish it. I was glad that she liked it afterwards. It is amazing how we can communicate via the internet today, despite big distances. I was grateful that she found it encouraging.

  9. isathreadsoflife on

    Happy Easter, Birgitte, as sunny and joyful as your bright collage 🙂

    • Giiid on

      Thank you Isa, and the same to you! I haven´t been blogging much lately, but all the time thinking of my blogfriends, and looking forward to continue our inspiring relations. 🙂

  10. Babs M on

    I still have your collage you sent to me framed on my office wall. Thanks for it again, and for your thoughts on my father’s death. Blog friends help make the world better. 🙂

    • Giiid on

      I wish you all the best, Babs.

  11. flandrumhill on

    The red in your recent collages makes them appear so vibrant and alive. A good color for both springtime and encouragement.

    • Giiid on

      I agree, red is a great color, and I love to use it. It´s a bit of a challenge not to use too much, I imagine that a red in red collage wouldn´t be too much for me, but most likely to others. Except for Gerry, of course, she also loves red.) Thank you for the nice compliment.


Leave a Reply

