Earth hour 2011

7 comments so far

  1. Gerry on

    I’ve been puzzling over this one. Between the title and the patterns of light it seems that it must be approached reverently. But then there’s that palm tree. Pure whimsy. I decided it must be in honor of moving the clocks around–a sort of memorial to the lost hour that we will not get back again until the fall.

    • Giiid on

      Thank you for adding a story to my very less informative photo. You are right about the celebrating aspect, it was because of the”Earth hour” concept http://www.earthhour.org/Homepage.aspx
      that I had some candles (hmnn…I suppose I can´t say turned on, but you know…on). One hour without using electricity. At the same time, we changed into summertime in Denmark, and from that angle your detective work has shown out to be perfect.

      • Gerry on

        Now, see, I should have realized that. I forget everything. Nice job. (I did without electricity for two whole weeks, but that was just in the car, so I suppose it doesn’t count. Except it meant I couldn’t use gasoline, either, so maybe it does count. Perfect.)

  2. Reggie on

    We also celebrated Earth Hour in South Africa – except I was at a function that evening, so I missed the lights-out. I think it is a brilliant idea, though, because it does make us more aware of how we waste electricity.

    Nice picture, Giiid.

    • Giiid on

      Thank you, Reggie.
      I agree with you; the main effect of Earth hour is probably that we become aware of how we use electricity,(and how much we use). Actually one can be surprised to find out how many small energy consumption things we have here and there.

  3. milkayphoto on

    Ah, now it becomes clear (I admit…I had no idea what ‘Earth Hour’ meant, even tho I was aware of the lights out movement. Just missed the terminology for some reason).

    Hubby and I have become very aware of our electical consumption lately since our power company sends out notices letting us know how much we use in comparison to our neighbors. Little do they know that my studio is in my home so it isn’t a fair comparison. Even so, we have done what we can to minimize wasteful energy usage.

    We are really caught in a Catch-22 as society delights and celebrates all the electronic gadgets yet then we are chastised if we use them.

    • Giiid on

      Tracy, I love to have this long comment, it is interesting to read. Of course you need more electricity now that you have your study at home. We too receive such compare letters, but as you say, it is not always a fair method. Such letters should be stored under heavy things, and forgotten all about. The most important is to feel responsible in everyday life, and little by little get used to other or new ideas. We ( in EU) are foced to use energy light bulbs, and that is NOT nice, the light is awfull. Slowly all kind of old fashion light bulbs will disappear…I sure hope that the inventors work fast to create good energy lamps light bulbs. I trust them….


Leave a Reply

