Light and shadow

14 comments so far

  1. milkayphoto on

    Oh, so lonely feeling…needs a cat. Yes, definitely a cat. A cute little furball curled up on the bed, near the lower left, basking in the ‘light’. Or MAYBE, standing up in mid-stretch so that the shadow falls on the wall…

    Sorry…no need to change the image. Lovely and powerful as is! 🙂

    • Giiid on

      I can imagine this little cute cat, and if allergy wasn´t a problem I surely would like to have a cat. Probably taking photos of it day and night. Cindy has taken a very funny cat photo: http://cindydyer.wordpress.com/2011/03/16/costco-box-window-cat-fun/

      • milkayphoto on

        Hilarious!! Cat in the box is priceless!

        I HAVE a cat and let’s just say as much as I’d like to photograph her all day long, she most definitely has other ideas on the subjuect!

  2. kiwidutch on

    We too have windows that throw shadows like this but they have stained glass around their edges which throw little squares and rectangles of gold, yellow and blue/green onto where-ever the shadow lands too.
    Sorry, no puss here to lend you, but your photo looks fine without it, very peaceful and serene, and anyway you just *know* in your heart don’t you that a cat would not sit in the best place for perfect composition, in fact anywhere but!

  3. Giiid on

    Oh, that must be a nice sight. Have you taken any photos of that? I suppose you are right bout the cat, they do have their own will, which in some way are nice. Like I wrote to Tracy; go and see Cindy´s cat: http://cindydyer.wordpress.com/2011/03/16/costco-box-window-cat-fun/

  4. montucky on

    I like the simplicity of that and the nice, clean lines!

    • Giiid on

      Thank for your feedback,you Montucky.

  5. Gerry on

    I admire the artistry of the photograph, but oh dear, it reminds me of hospitals. I’m going to go pet the fur children.

    • Giiid on

      True, this could absolutely make one think of hospitals. Does it help if I tell you, that the white thing is a table cloth hiding all the old newspapers and advertising magazines that I afterwards made ready for recycling?

      • Giiid on

        PS. – and that no humans or animals were harmed during my photo session…

  6. isathreadsoflife on

    Lovely blending of soft and rougher textures. Less is definitely beautiful, I love the details you captured so artistically.

    • Giiid on

      Thank you Is, you are always so positive and kind in your compliments. I am almost shy, but all right, I admit that I do love to read it. 🙂

  7. erikatakacs on

    An artist’s eye. It’s always interesting and puzzling people’s reading of artwork, of what brings out in the individual. To me it has a very serene atmosphere to it, perfect in black and white, nothing to add, nothing to take away.

    • Giiid on

      Hi Erika. How nice to hear from you, and to get your opinion about the photo. It is interesting to hear how you see it, I know you are serious studying lines, structure and light/shadow effect for the use of your work with sculptures. Recently I thought about you and to make some photos with structure and pattern, like you made me do some years ago. That was fun.


Leave a Reply

