Rain in the city

18 comments so far

  1. Reggie on

    What an unusual picture! It looks almost like a stained glass window… well-captured.

  2. giiid on

    Thank you. It is taken from a house opposite. This sight is not unusual here, I would say it is a bit too usual. 🙂

  3. Gerry on

    I like this photo. I always like your rainy photos. They give me comfort–people elsewhere in the world live good and happy lives in places where it rains . . . often.

    I heard a story today–or parts of it anyway–that explained that Danes were exceptionally contented people because they live in a “cozy country.” Hmm. I am wary of all generalizations. Still, you often show me a cozy place where a person can be contented.

    This photo reminds me of the community of townhouses where Rob the Firefighter and the Lady Alicia and my grand-dogs live, except that theirs is only two stories high. I like visiting them very much. It is cozy in a hip sort of way.

    • Giiid on

      Gerry, what a wonderful long comment, thank you for that.

      Now and then there are rumors telling that Danes are very happy, sometimes it is even told that we are the most happy people among all the people who have been asked. I am sure that many Danes wonder what this is all about.
      The other day, I saw an interview that might give an answer, here it is: http://www.cbsnews.com/video/watch/?id=3832689n&tag=mncol;lst;8

      If the reason is that we have less expectations, as it is said in the video, that could possibly be right. Anyway, rainy weather is a good excuse to stay inside and have coffee and cakes, which (usually) makes people happy (or at least not unhappy), – and we have a lot of rain. 🙂

  4. isathreadsoflife on

    An artistic and poetic tribute to rain seen behind a window. I like very much the slightly blurry look. Lovely mood in this image, giiid.

    • Giiid on

      Thank you, I am always glad to see a comment from you, Isa.

  5. Nye on

    giiid, looks just like a painting and the lights from the building across gives it a warm touch.

    • Giiid on

      I was lucky that the light was turned on for a short moment. It is the light at the steps. Thank you Ginger.

  6. CheyAnne Sexton on

    Looks like a painting.
    beautiful.
    CheyAnne

    • Giiid on

      Hi CheyAnne, nice to see you again. Thank you.

  7. Scott Thomas Photography on

    Looks cold and damp. Real November weather.

    • Giiid on

      That day wasn´t really cold, but we have had frost last night, so today is cooold! I have to go and check your blog for next assignment deadline, “autumn” it was, right?

  8. erikatakacs on

    I really like this picture, Birgitte. The lights, the rain’s abstract texture really warm up the gloomy day. You nailed it!

    • Giiid on

      I am glad to know, Erika, I like it too,- I remember the good feeling of being inside in such weather, when I see the photo. Thank you for commenting.

  9. isathreadsoflife on

    Have a lovely Sunday, giiid, as sunny and mild as mine over here. An autumnal wink to say I am still here even if last week was very rough !

    • Giiid on

      You are right, now and then there just isn´t enough of whatever is needed to make an interesting post, – time, energy, inspiration, …. Thank you for sending me this post, Isa, it helps. 🙂

  10. sartenada on

    So different and lovely photo. I mean that somebody else might had waited until the rain stops. I agree with Reggie when saying that it is like stained glass.

    • Giiid on

      Hallo Sartenada. Thank you for sending me a comment, and by this give me an opportunity to see wonderful photos from Finland. I will definately follow your blog.


Leave a Reply

