autumn leaf

18 comments so far

  1. Gerry on

    I spent a long time looking at this, and kept thinking how much fun you must have had with it. The surface tension, the yellow vein and the blue shadow, the pale underside of the leaf against the brick red background – everything unexpected and everything just right.

    • giiid on

      Out in my autumn garden, leaves are falling and covering the lawn, and everything else that has been left by the forgetful gardener. One thing forgotten is the wheelbarrow, possibly because it is too big for the human gardener eye. Anyway, this has happened before, actually it happens all the time and the wheelbarrow is now a moveable work of art, more rusty for every year.
      At the time when this little leaf was falling, the wheelbarrow happened to be close to the tree, and look what happened. My effort was just to discover the sight, as I passed by. This time I have adjusted the photo in Photoshop, as I have explained in my comment to Isa below. Thank you for the comment, it is great to be praised (wonder if this is the right word, to me it sounds like something going on in a church. I´ll blame the wordbook if it is wrong) a sunday morning. 🙂

  2. isathreadsoflife on

    The first thought that came to mind as I looked at this beautiful oak leaf was : It looks as a jewel from Deanna Gracie :)this is truly a piece of art, giiid. I don´t know how you pictured this but I´m just happy to look at it and admire it. Thanks. Happy Sunday.

    • giiid on

      Isa, I was thinking the same thing when I saw this leaf, that it looks like a Deanna Gracie art work. The leaf had fallen into my rusty wheelbarrow, which the rain had filled with water. This time I have adjusted the photo a bit in photoshop and it pays off, even I prefer things as they are. Possible remains from the hippie time 😉 The next question could then be,- is the reality seen by a camera untouched? Of course not. So, perhaps photoshop will be let in little by little. Anyway I´ve seen many fantastic photos at the blogs which has been adjusted in Photoshop or similar programs. Thank you for your comment, Isa, have a nice sunday.

  3. thedailyclick on

    It’s beautiful! I really like how you captued this.

    • giiid on

      Thank you Michaela! 🙂

  4. iheartfilm on

    Water drops really make for interesting photos, don’t they?

    • giiid on

      Absolutely. They are adding both light and 3d effects to the motive. I am always looking for motives after the rain. At this time of year, it can be a bit difficult though, because of the cloudy weather even if it doesn´t rain anymore. Thank you for your comment.

  5. Nye on

    Very nice shot giiid. I read that the autumn leaves are prettiest when wet, and if it doesn’t rain then to bring a spray water bottle along. I see you didn’t have to do that. 🙂

    • giiid on

      Hi Ginger. I prefer to take photos of what I find, as they are, that is a sport for me. 🙂 The new thing is to increase the impression a bit by using Photoshop. Using this the right way can become a sport, too, I suppose.

  6. Scott Thomas Photography on

    Water always adds interest. This is very nice.

    • giiid on

      Thank you Scott. 🙂

  7. Reggie on

    Ooh, I too love this picture.

    You’ve captured those raindrops sooo well, I like how the light refracts through them so you can see the texture and colour of the leaf underneath. And that little bit of blue sky, on the side and along the edge of the light-brown leaf makes it nicely dramatic.

    Well done!

    • giiid on

      Thankyou Reggie. A nice side effect of searching for good angles and the best light, is the increasing awareness of the elements which are crucial for the result. Sun, moon, wind, clouds, rain, in endless combinations. I enjoy to be a student in all this.

      By the way, did you see the answer of the riddle? 🙂

      • Reggie on

        I just went over to have a look! Who would’ve thought it was coffee!

        And yes, I have also noticed that the world looks quite different through the lens of the camera… I’ve realised that I often don’t SEE things until I see them on the photograph… like something in the background or on the side, or a shadow or a figure that I hadn’t noticed while I was taking the photo… Still have a lot to learn about composition!

        • giiid on

          That is a big part of the fun,- to learn new things all the time. Your photos are btw. both nice and well composed, no need for intense studies. But as you probably also have experienced, more knowledge means also an understanding of, how little one knows.

  8. CheyAnne Sexton on

    WOWZA, I just love this. there is something soooo beautifully elegant about a single leaf well framed. Nice capture
    peace n abundance,
    CheyAnne,
    http://cheyannesexton.etsy.com

  9. Giiid on

    I´m sure you could make a beautiful watercolor out of it. Thank you, CheyAnne. 🙂


Leave a Reply

