Would you like a banana?

During the second WW, we had no bananas. I say we, but actually I wasn´t born back then, and so I never learn how it feels to miss bananas. Of course one can learn some by listening to  “Yes,-we have no bananas”, and the Danish song “Når der kommer en båd med bananer” (When the boat with bananas will arrive, then…), but the fact that the feeling of missing something can stay in one´s mind for ever, even when the “problem” isn´t there anymore, was an experience that came to me, when my great grand mother  in 1989 turned 90 years. Her old friends and cousins were gathered in her little cosy flat, for the occation decorated with flowers and flags. Royal porcelain bowls were filled with delicate chocolates for the guests, and the finest crystal glasses had been taken out from dark cabinets, to be filled with sherry or liqueur. Everything was as  fine and special as we – her family – thought she would like. When the guests were nicely seated my great grandmother, (who btw was totally fresh)  asked them “Would you like a banana”? No doubt that this question surprised me, but I was even more surprised about the reaction from the guests, whom apparently found this offer absolutely relevant. Great grandmother knew best what would mark a day as special for her guests, and for herself. This was a good lesson for me.

I will leave you with the same question as my great grandmother, though this time not with  reference to privations, only to the joy of shapes and light.
Would you like a banana?
The first bananas -after the war – came to Denmark in may 1952.
19 comments so far

  1. thedailyclick on

    Nice banana mosaic, so bright and cheerful 🙂
    I love bananas when they JUST turned yellow. I don’t like them when they’re too yellow, and when they start to get brown spots I make banana milk (3 bananas, 3 tablespoons sugar, 1 liter milk, and a little bit of cinnamon. Mix in a blender and enjoy)

    • giiid on

      Banana milk sounds delicious! Umnn!!(This Umn “word” is similar to what you call yum)

  2. Gerry on

    Yes indeed I would like a banana. Thank you.

    Goodness. 1952? I’ll have to ask my dad whether they disappeared from the market here too. They were a special treat during my childhood, but so were oranges. And any kind of fresh fruit or vegetable was an astonishing luxury in the depths of winter.

  3. isathreadsoflife on

    What an interesting and lovely blog, giiid. I would love a banana too. I don´t remember when they appeared in Switzerland but I can imagine what a treat it was for your great grandmother and her guests. My own grandfather used to tell me that the gift his siblings and him received for Christmas was… an orange ! Nothing could have pleased them more.

    • giiid on

      I remember something like that; The 4 sundays evenings before christmas, we children placed our (one) shoe in the window. The next morning Santa Claus had given us an orange. Big surprise and feast.

  4. Kathy on

    What a precious story this is, giiid. A very tasty story indeed! To have known loss and longing…so that a banana becomes a cherished offering. Thank you for sharing this.

    • giiid on

      Thank you Kathy. I´m glad my story tasted well. 🙂

  5. Reggie on

    That is such a beautiful story, Giid, and the collage is exquisite – I’ll never look at a banana the same way! We take bananas so for granted here, that I can’t even imagine a time when they could not be found in the shops.

    • giiid on

      I am glad you liked to read it, Reggie. Isn´t it strange to think of, that picking a banana would be a most exotic thing to do for me? I almost cant imagine bananas anywhere else than at the shops… 🙂

  6. Babs M on

    Each person sets his own value to objects–what an informative lesson to learn. I wonder what will be the item that those of our generation come to prize in the years ahead.

    • giiid on

      Yes, that will be interesting to see. My first thought was time, peace and places without any electronics, but that is most likely my own wishes.

  7. Scott Thomas Photography on

    Yes I would! I love bananas and would hate not having them to peel and enjoy. Nice story and collage!

    • giiid on

      Thanks Scott. 🙂

  8. milkayphoto on

    Lovely mosaic!

    We are all very spoiled in these times where most items are available all year ’round. I have a banana just about every day and also do not like them to be too ripe. When they get very brown, I make banana muffins which are very yummy!

    • giiid on

      Banana muffins, sounds very nice! I feel like baking some, perhaps a little late though, -it´s midnight here 🙂

  9. Nye on

    I never knew and heard of this story before and thanks for sharing. I love having banana with my morning coffee and thanks for offering. 🙂

    This is a nice collage of a banana.

    • Giiid on

      I didn´t see your comment before now, Ginger, a belated thank you!

  10. Dinesh on

    Hi! How you doing?
    yes ofcourse I like bananas specially a very useful diet if you workout.
    btw great stuff as always 🙂

    • Giiid on

      Hi Dinesh. Thank you.


Leave a Reply

