An essay – Travel photography

This essay is my contribution to Scott Thomas assignment 8 Travel photography
.
Every summer I  spend some days / weeks with my siblings, and all of our families  at a wonderful place,- a tiny village in Jutland. As many other Danes, we are returning to a summer-house  made generations ago by family members.  My family came for the first time to this place almost 100 years ago. Going there is not only a travel in distance, it is also a travel in time.
.
This picture shows my grandfather building his summer house, 1942.
.
To reach the little paradise,  some problems has to be solved first . One of them is how to pass the water wich separate Zealand from Jutland. It do has a name; Storebælt. There are both several ferries, and a bridge to choose between, I like to use the ferry. It takes 1 hour, time enough for a visit in the restaurant.
There are still some miles to go, then after a while, the little village appear in the horizon.
.
The main street hasn´t changed since I was walking there with my father many years ago, and it probably never will.
.
The children are enjoying to play and run around in the nature, far away from streets and cars, and the grown ups are enjoying to be reminded of  how nice that was.

My mother and a brother looks at my grandfather throwing flat stones, trying to make one stone touch the water many times. (“smut” in Danish)  about 65 years ago. (Update: Smut=Play ducks and drages)

We are still throwing stones…
.
………..to be continued….


22 comments so far

  1. Nye on

    giiid, this is such a beautiful post. I love the old pictures, they must be very special to you and your family and thank you for sharing them with us.

    I’m looking forward to seeing more. 🙂

    • giiid on

      Thank you for joining my traveling back in time, Ginger. I too love old photos – and the stories they tell, – and sometimes not tell. I am lucky that my grandmother took a lot of photos back then, she´s probably the one who started my own passion for pictures.

  2. burstmode on

    This is one of my favorite posts ever…nothing more to say.

    • giiid on

      I am very touched to know, burstmode, thank you for telling me.

  3. Karma on

    What a great way to present travel photography, with a look back in time! You are very lucky to have those precious old photos.
    Around here (Massachusetts,USA) I think “smut” is skipping stones.

    • giiid on

      I see, “Skipping stones” is your words for it,- thank you. I looked in the dictionary to find a translation, and “Play ducks and drages” was the bid. This is apparently a very old name for this game, there are a little story about it here: http://www.phrases.org.uk/meanings/play-ducks-and-drakes.html

      Thank you for sending me your comment, Karma.

  4. isathreadsoflife on

    What a great idea to present your essay as you travel through your memories and the present time ! A lot of emotions for you, surely. I enjoyed your sparks like images in mosaics, as always. Wonderful to see the same beach where your grand-father skipped stones (faire des “ricochets” in French). Jutland seems like a quiet and lovely place to spend one’s vacation. Looking forward to seeing more 🙂 thank you giiid.

    • giiid on

      Faire des ricochets,- a nice and elegant sound. It would be fun to find other old games and see what they have been called in different languages. I will post more about the vacation. Thank you Isa.

  5. […] her posting, An essay – Travel photography, Birgitte gives us a delightful view of what was and is her family’s summer home and we find […]

  6. thedailyclick on

    I LOVE the mix of old and new photos here Birgitte. And how wonderful that this summer house is still in your family 🙂

    • giiid on

      Thank you Michaela, I will find some more old photos for the next part.

  7. Gerry on

    As always, you have made a whole, balanced portrait. Every detail fits–nothing extra, nothing missing. What a dear little girl walking with Daddy, and what dear little bare toes on the rocky beach. I love visiting with you, Birgitte.

    • giiid on

      It made me so glad to read your comment, Gerry, thank you for encourage me to continue the same way. It is sometimes difficult to judge for oneself, how the result is working.

  8. milkayphoto on

    Oh, how wonderful to weave in old with new! Really gives a sense of ‘connection’ that we all have with our pasts and makes us who we are today. Wonderful post!

    • giiid on

      Thank you Tracy, you are right, the past is an important indicator of why and how we are doing and reacting today. Studying old photos is one of my favorite things. Trying to figure out how things was back then.

  9. Kathy on

    Giiid, this is such a nostalgic heart-warming post, especially with the old family photos added in. I love the thoughts of the children playing there with the stones and water. You are making memories for future generations.

    • giiid on

      I am glad you find it heart-warming. It is easy to get nostalgic at a place with such a long family history, and that is also how we feel about it. Thank you for sending your comment, Kathy.

  10. burstmode on

    I reread this post and it struck me, “This picture shows my grandfather building his summer house, 1942.”

    That was in the middle of WW2…it makes me wonder what life was like under the Nazi occupation and what stories there are to tell.

    • giiid on

      This is a very interesting question, Burstmode, I will come up with something. We haven´t really heard much, so it would be interesting to investigate.
      Never the less, I have one story, told by an old woman who helped my grandmother with household (and the 6 children) now and then, while my grandfather was at work in town.

  11. Babs M on

    This is wonderful, especially with the old/new photos. You’re always expanding and making better work. I’m very proud of you!!

    • giiid on

      :-)I am more proud, reading your comment! Thanks.


Leave a Reply

