Lovely leaves

I love this plant, Peony, and I´m looking foreward all year to see it in full flower, wich usually is in july. When it´s time is over, I´m trying to keep it a little longer. Unfolding the close to withered flower is almost like recieving a message of love.

20 comments so far

  1. Gerry on

    That looks like the fresh, tender pink peony from the summer collage, now a little the worse for wear. Not unlike myself. I never thought to examine a peony so closely–never knew the petals could be heart-shaped.

    • giiid on

      It is the same peony, – or one of its sisters. I get about 10-15 flowers from the plant each year. Unfortunately they all arrive at the same time, and for a much too short visit, so I am photographing them as if they were stars…wich they in a way are. I was surprised to see how many different shapes the petals from the same flower had. Thank you for your quick response, Gerry, much appreciated.

  2. thedailyclick on

    I never knew the petals were heart-shaped either! The soft pink is so pretty!

    • giiid on

      Neither did I, Michala, not before the flower started to fall apart, in the middle of my photo session. 🙂

  3. milkayphoto on

    Oh, Birgitte! What a clever way to pay homage to one of my very favorite flowers!! Now I wish peony season weren’t over or else I’d be sure to steal this idea!!! 🙂

    • giiid on

      Now you gave ME an idea, other flowers might be interesting, too, when they are done…this could be fun to take a closer look at. Nice to know that you like this flower too

  4. Nye on

    I have peony and didn’t even notice that it has a heart shape petals until now. This is a great idea and beautiful composition.

    • giiid on

      Thank you Nye, I am glad to know that you like it. It was fun to make it, and to see the many different shapes. I should have tried to press some (dry), though I don´t know if that would be possible.

  5. isathreadsoflife on

    What a pretty and creative still life ! Twenty-six petals of art and love. I could not say why but to me it has a Nordic look, the lines ? the wood ? the whole design ? I don´t know but I love your composition, giiid.

    • giiid on

      Thank you for loving it, Isa. I agree about the nordic look, – it is an interesting observation you have done. Perhaps the light wood, and straight lines is an explanation, as you suggests . I like that you have been counting the petals, 26… 🙂

  6. flandrumhill on

    Giid, although I love peonies and have many beautiful blooms each year in my yard, I never realized there was such variety in their petals. The one at top left looks like a child with arms wide open. I also never would have thought of laying them out like this. Very cool.

    • giiid on

      Thank you! It could be fun to hear what people see in those leaves, perhaps it could be used as a test of what´s on the viewers mind right now. I like the child with open arms at the top, a sweet thought. Thank you for sending your comment.

      • flandrumhill on

        That would be an interesting test giid. Can you tell I spend a lot of time with children? Their arms open so readily.

  7. deirdrea on

    This is so beautiful, Birgitte!

    Every time I look at your blog, I get another lovely surprise. I never thought to take a peony apart like this — the individual petals are as beautiful as the full blooms.

    • giiid on

      Thank you for your nice compliment, Deirdrea, I am happy to know that you can find surprises here. 🙂

  8. maantas on

    picture looks really beautiful, i love it.

    • giiid on

      Hi maantas. Nice to hear from you again. I am glad to know that you like the picture, even there isn´t much of a 3D effect to see in it.:-) Thank you for telling me.

  9. maantas on

    hey, common, i am not only a 3d geek 🙂
    i have other sides too. for instance i studied photography art for my BA 🙂 so Photography (as 100 other things in life) makes me happy too 🙂
    anyways, nice foto .

    • maantas on

      mhm… just as a prove 🙂 http://www.flickr.com/photos/maantas

      • giiid on

        I am impressed about all the difficult 3D things you write about, that´s why I mentioned it. Great to learn about your photo studies, and to see some of your pictures at Flick. I haven´t an account there, which means that I can´t write comments, but I´m glad to see that many others have send you well deserved positive feedback.


Leave a Reply

