Squirrel experiences

I am in the middle of the “changing computer” process, involving the new Windows 7. This middle seems to be endless…do I have to say more?
I’m not going to complain here, let me show you this little bandit instead. At the first photo, he seems to be licking  the leaves, which are heavily filled with greenflies. Perhaps this is some kind of squirrel-candy?

At the other photo, he was trying to run away from the little metal box with legs that followed him. When he realized that my camera and I was standing  in his way, he suddenly decide to hang like a fur, over a branch. This was very effective as a “confuse the enemy” step. I was realy very surprised, especially after a minute or two, actually I started wondering if the poor thing was feeling unwell…but no. He is just a little bandit. Look at the smile he send me just before he ran away:

22 comments so far

  1. Scott Thomas Photography on

    Squirrels are cunning little rascals, aren’t they? Darn cute, too. Your squirrels have really long tails compared to our North American ones.

    • giiid on

      A new and useful word for me, rascal. You are right, they are rascals! This one spoiled the idyll I was expecting to see around the nesting box, the birds had started to build a nest, but they gave up when the squirrel started to sit on the top of the house. I was actually surprised to see the long tail too, it use to have it raised. But this was of course a special occasion, a confusing attempt, and had to be surprising. 🙂

  2. thedailyclick on

    What a cutie!
    You’ll have to let me know how you like Windows 7. I’m thinking of MAYBE buying a small laptop to take on vacations, etc. (IF I get a really good deal on one!!) and it’s most likely going to have Windows 7.

    • giiid on

      It´s great to have a small laptop, I have one, with a 10 inch screen. It is realy great to have, and it doesn´t have Windows7. One thing that I didn´t know about Windows 7 is, that it doesn´t contain a mailprogram, that is, they have made something called Windows live, wich I don´t like for several reasons. On the other hand, I can´t get my outlook express mails into the new computer without using it, or Thunderbird, or another program…this is just one of the problems. I will tell you more later, but I think that you should Google to see what people write about this.

  3. cindydyer on

    Too cute, Birgitte! I just love watching squirrels. Yours have very red fur—ours are mostly gray with white bellies.

    • giiid on

      I´ve just looked them up at Google, to see the difference. I didn´t know that there are so many different species, Wikipedia says 280.
      I love to see them, too, my camera hasn´t much of a zoom, so usually I have to just enjoy the sight.

  4. milkayphoto on

    Such a cutie!

    • giiid on

      At least he´s doing his best to look cute and innocent. 🙂

  5. Reggie on

    Hehehehe, that was hilarious! I love his cheeky little grin in the last picture. We don’t have red squirrels down here, ours are grey-brown, usually with a white belly I think, and they also don’t have such a long tail as yours. CUTE buggers, though, aren’t they? And surprisingly noisy sometimes! 🙂

    • giiid on

      It must be “The African ground squirrel”? I looked it up at Google, and read that it can be kept as pet…that is not possible here, though some people have talent for making any wild animal tame, of course. I never hear any sound from ours but a little click sometimes, though it did pummel its little “hand” against the metal gutter once, to make me leave I suppose. Once again a bit surpriced 🙂

  6. Gerry on

    What a handsome little bandit!

    I am fond of squirrels and enjoyed this one’s adventures.

    We used to have a lot around the place, but that was when we put out sunflower seeds for the birds. When it occurred to us that we were incurring substantial expense to fatten up the raccoons and squirrels, we took the feeders down, and eveyone took off in search of another banquet.

    I’m curious about the greenflies. I’m trying to avoid thinking about Windows in any of its iterations.

    • giiid on

      I can imagine how the animals from their hide have enjoyed watching you drag larger and larger sacks with seeds from the car to the feeders, probably thinking that this was too good to be truth.
      Studying greenflies could possibly prevent the worst breakdowns caused by the upgrading to windows 7. I will consider to pass this advice to comming upgraders. The squirrel though doesn´t need any technical problems to enjoy their presence, and if it could eat them all, I would be pleased. I´m quite satisfied with just studying them at Google.

  7. Drusillah on

    Heehee! 😀 Today I also saw a squirrel up close fairly, but he didn’t “play” with me like that. 😉

    That little smile is so cute!!

    • giiid on

      Hi Drusillah, nice to see your comment. Yes, the little squirrel is cute, and who knows what they realy are thinking about? Probably just food. Is it the same kind of squirrels you´re having in your area?

  8. isathreadsoflife on

    How lovely :)I just love the second picture, he looks exhausted or very curious about you. A cute little bandit, as you say. I like the way you observe birds and other animals in nature and manage to share your views with us. Priceless.

    • giiid on

      Exhausted is the right word, that was my first thought. I´ve never seen a squirrel hanging like this, perhaps this one is one of the creative type.
      I´m glad to hear that you like my garden observations Isa, thank you! It´s nice to know that there are a place to tell about them, with posetive listeners/readers.

  9. Martha on

    Hello, Birgitte! Excellent photos of a cute little critter! I think the squirrel is a “teaser.” I love the smile in the third photo! Here is a photo of our little visitor.

    • giiid on

      Hello Martha, thank you for your responce. I think you are quite right about the squirrels being teasers, at least they are very entertaining to watch. I am happy that we have a Hazel to attract them.

  10. London Caller on

    Hello,
    Isn’t that a red squirrel?
    It’s very rare in England.

    • giiid on

      Hallo London caller. You are right, it is a red squirrel, – quite common in Denmark. Squirrels were declared totally protected in 1994, and as far as I can see, no one knows exactly the numbers of red squirrels living in Denmark at the moment. Some years ago ,readers of a newspaper chose the squirrel to be our national animal. The swan have been our national bird since 1984. One day we might have nationalized all animals around us 😉

      Thank you for your comment.

  11. Nye on

    giiid, I can see the smile, you’ve captured his expression well, even when he’s trying to hang still at the branch. I guess he figured if he doesn’t move then you can’t see him. 🙂

    • giiid on

      You are right, he´s probably trying to be invisible, and perhaps look like a branch. I think this is a young scuirrel we are having in the garden now, – he might be practicing different ways to fool or scare an enemy. It looks like he is playing most of the time, and actually he behaves like if it is ME entering his territorie- wich isn´t all wrong, of course. Squirrels have given us so many hazel, because they forget some of the nuts they are hiding around in the garden. Nice to read your comment, Ginger.


Leave a Reply

