Kænemælkskoldskål

If you think this white “soup” is some kind of a hospital-diet, or babyfood, you are absolutely wrong.  This is a favorite summer dish for many Danes,  called Kærne mælks-kold-skål – directly translated  “butter-milk-cold-bowl” . The recipe is: Buttermilk, egg, sugar, vanilla, and lemon. My mother added whipped cream. Has to be served very cold.

Can be  eaten any time, day and night, -that is if you can get any at the supermarked. It is a favorite, and usually sold out very quickly. The dairyworks (?) increases their production of koldskål, based on the weather repport.  One of them has even a meteorologist hyred.  As soon as the temperature rise above 18-20C, we just have to get some Koldskål, to cool us down.

The small sweet  biscuits are of course important, they are called Kammerjunkere. I don´t know how they got that name, but never mind, they tastes delicious. This photo was very difficult to take, because the motive kept disappearing. (Everyone knows probably how disappointing a soft biscuit tastes.)

7 comments so far

  1. milkayphoto on

    Sounds delicious! Those little biscuits are adorable!

    It must have taken all of your resolve to NOT EAT your subject before you were done! 🙂

  2. giiid on

    …well…the difficult part about taking the photo, was that my camera wasn´t fast enough to catch the Koldskål before I had eaten it..At portion number 3, I used all my resolve… 🙂 I wish I could send you some kammerjunkere. They are delicious!

  3. Gerry on

    I like visiting you, Birgitte. You serve up excellent treats for all my senses–including my sense of fun!

  4. giiid on

    You are a most welcoming guest, Gerry, I use to stand by the door, looking for you.

  5. thedailyclick on

    That looks really good!

  6. flandrumhill on

    I’d enjoy it with whipped cream. What cozy food!

    • giiid on

      Perhaps I should post a recipe, though the small bisquits are a must, – you have to make them too. Or perhaps you have similar recipies from your German roots?


Leave a Reply

