Sweet Basil

12 comments so far

  1. Reggie on

    Oh, that is beauitful!

    I love the taste of sweet basil, but I think it’s an annual rather than a perennial, isn’t it? So it dies every year. 😦

    I’ve got perennial basil growing in numerous herb pots all over the garden, because I discovered that it’s really easy to propagate this from cuttings. You just cut off a shoot, take off some leaves at the bottom (to use on a sandwich or in a salad), and stick the bottom end of the shoot into the soil. Water, but not too much, and before you know it, you have a new basil plant. Magic! 🙂

    I really like the red tomatoes and white-pink radish (ooh! they look so crisp and crunchy! I can almost TASTE the sharp flavour!) interspersed among the green.

    Yummy!

    • giiid on

      This sounds fun, I´m already imagining my garden filled with Bazil. The only thing I´m not sure of is if my type of Basil will grow with the same enthusiasm …we´ll see. Thank you for this idea.

  2. thedailyclick on

    Beautiful mosaic – again! 🙂
    Those TOMATOES look delicious!!

  3. uphilldowndale on

    I wish there was something as attractive as that mosaic in our fridge. But I’m not optimistic.

    • giiid on

      At least you still have hope! Our dinner table looks pretty empty with the packet of Digestive we are sharing tonight…the chef seems to have taken a day off. 😉
      Thank you Mrs. Uhdd.

  4. milkayphoto on

    WOW! Love this mosaic! Although, istead of the radish slices, I would put fresh mozzarella – yum!

    I never knew that about propagating basil! Definitely tryng that!

    • giiid on

      Mozarella, – sounds delicious. I could eat that now, too bad it´s late and bedtime. The Tomatoe open sandwich I use to make include: rye bread, tomatoe,mayonnaise, chopped onions, salt, peper, and basil. Thank you Tracy.

  5. Gerry on

    Look at that delicious, luminous mosaic. My nose is twitching. There is nothing finer than fresh, ripe tomatoes and basil, although it is true that fresh mozarella makes the perfect accompaniment . . .

    Truly, Birgitte, you have a gift.

    • giiid on

      Gerry, I am touched about the kind and encouraging compliments you so often are sending me. Thank you very much! They mean a lot.

      One more Mozarelle fan….I agree, it is delicious. I have to buy some now, after all this mozarelle-writing.

  6. june on

    That is a delicious looking photograph mosaic.

    • giiid on

      Hi June. Thank you. 🙂


Leave a Reply

