Forecast for the week-end: Wet flowers.

This winter aconite daisy (bellis perennis) have changed itself into a little bowl, – or a big pool, depending of the size of the viewer. The weather isn´t exactly nice at the moment, the temperature is about  10C (50F) and it is windy and raining. Time for catching some wet motives, one never knows when the heat comes…

20 comments so far

  1. milkayphoto on

    Sorry for the cold, wet weather! It did make for a lovely flower pic, tho! 🙂

    • giiid on

      That was a quick response, thank you Tracy! 🙂

  2. burstmode on

    This is a favorite. I love the detail and how the image fades into blur.

    • giiid on

      I was surprised to see some of the details, didn´t know about the “hair” for instance. I have discovered the same tiny “hair” at other small flowers. It is quite interesting to open the computer, and take a closer look at whatever the lense has catched of tiny objects.
      I like the “fade into blur”, too. Thank you for commenting.

  3. thedailyclick on

    One of my FAVORITE little flowers! I really miss them… we don’t have them here anywhere (seen them in San Francisco, though).

    • giiid on

      Is it perhaps too hot? As you surely know, they are everywhere in this area, living a life in danger for being cut away by lawn mowers. I think they are pretty, and have decide to keep them and live with the fact that my lawn most likely are seen as belonging to a romantic hippie…

  4. Scott Thomas Photography on

    Rain drops on flowers..never tire of seeing it and this one is very beautiful. Well, we have snow in the forecast for our weekend. It could be worse!

    • giiid on

      Snow….once more I am convinced that everything is bigger – or in this case colder – in Amerika. We can never beat you in this. 🙂

  5. Gerry on

    The rain looks so pretty beaded on the daisy, and on the very tip of the blade of grass.

    It looks so dismal pooled on the deck and streaming down the driveway just as the dogs are in need of their evening walk.

    • giiid on

      You know about the green neighbouring grass, let´s add rain to the list. I think it sounds so very cozy with rain on the deck!

  6. isathreadsoflife on

    Pretty little cup and gorgeous macro. Rain has its lovely sides too 🙂

    • giiid on

      You are right, rain has lovely sides. In my childhood home, we could hear the rain at the “roof windows” . I love this sound. Usualy this is to be heard in the” summerhouse”, you probably know from the alpe cottages. If I had a hat with an umbrella, I think I would take more rain photos. There are so many reflections to catch, and then small surprises like this one. Thank you for responding, Isa.

  7. Tammy McLeod on

    That is a beautiful flower even if it is wet. The way it is cupped reminds me of a thistle almost.

    • giiid on

      Hi Tammy, thank you for writing a comment. Do you know this flower? It is a very ordinary flower, growing as weed in grass, even it can be bought in some variations. It is pretty, though, and often used for making garlands for fun, if folks are sitting a place where it grows.

  8. Nye on

    This looks like a water lily, very beautiful with rain drops.

    • giiid on

      I see what you mean. Do you have this flower around? Usualy it is open, but when it is cold or dark, it closes like this. I have many variations in my lawn, and after I have seen some enlarged photos of it, I have been more curious about it. When it get warmer, I will make a garland and post a photo of this little weed.

  9. pearlz on

    What an amazing and compact looking flower.

    • giiid on

      Usualy it is open, but when it is cold or getting late,it does like this, as if it was going to sleep. It is a very little flower, and very common, – actually it is called weed, but I like to have them in my garden. I presume you don´t have them around your place, then? Thank you for responding.

  10. Deanna on

    Another beautiful image – it looks like it’s receiving a prayer : – )

    • giiid on

      You are right, I see what you mean. Who knows, maybe it did? They are funny little flowers changing the possition of the small leaves all the time, depending on the weather.
      Did you by the way know, that the flower “Daisy”, wich this one look like, are the Danish national flower, and that this flower are used in jewellery associated with the queen, who is called “Daisy” as nick name.


Leave a Reply

