Kings garden, Copenhagen


I will add some more photos later…

Later:

Nye wrote in her comment: I’m so fascinated by the place that I had to look it up and it’s interesting to know that they’re the country’s oldest royal gardens and were established in the Renaissance style by Christian IV in the early 1600s. I can’t imagine what it was like back then.

Thank you Nye,  I´ll write a bit more  later.  🙂

14 comments so far

  1. Reggie on

    Oh,that looks so lovely! Do tell us more about King’s garden? Is it a large park? Can the public walk around in it?

    • giiid on

      I will tell more, now that I know that you and others are interested. The park is public, but it has opening hours and will be closed at nights. People in Copenhagen has many parks to use for walks, sunbathing, meeting friends or just walk through. This is one of them. Thank you for the comment. 🙂

  2. Scott Thomas Photography on

    Trying to picture this in about a month. Hope you get to go back. It is a big place but, of course, it’s the Kings. 🙂

    • giiid on

      This is a good idea, I will do that.

  3. thedailyclick on

    Such a beautiful park! That first picture reminds me so much of home.

    • giiid on

      I see what you mean. There are so many charming houses like this in Germany, a lot more than here.

  4. Nye on

    I’m so fascinated by the place that I had to look it up and it’s interesting to know that they’re the country’s oldest royal gardens and were established in the Renaissance style by Christian IV in the early 1600s. I can’t imagine what it was like back then.

    I hope you get to go back in the summer, must be real nice there.

    • giiid on

      Nye,I was looking for some information in english to copy, because I didn´t have time to translate. Do you mind me using this for a start? 🙂
      The park is situated in the center of Copenhagen, so I am often passing or visiting it. I´ll take more photos.

  5. isathreadsoflife on

    A wonderful setting for the Kings’ Garden ! And this spectacular alley of tall trees ! Majestic is the word 🙂 Great pictures, giiid.

    • giiid on

      There is a detailed plan for the garden, for instancea a list of the plants in the 250 meter herbaceous border, (picture nr. 5 with the blue sign.) I will go back and see how it looks later this year. I´m having the botanical garden on my list. too 🙂 Thank you Isa.

  6. Gerry on

    I feel drawn into that last photo. Such an elegant place! (I, um, presume they do not blast the trees with cannons there?)

    • giiid on

      You know where to find interesting places, Gerry. I am quite sure that you could tell many a story if you went there. This place is the castle Rosenborg, made by/for the King in 1606 – and the years after. In the beginning meant to be an place for resting, a “summerhouse” later on castle for the king (s). Today it is partly a museum with changing exibitions, – and the place where the crown jewels and crown regalier are safely kept. The military has a base just beside it. You see, we are living in a little fairytale country…at least that is what Denmark is presented as in Shanghai, Expo 2010. The Danish pavilion is named Welfairytales. But that is another story. One more to tell about.

  7. pearlz on

    I love the paths- and avenues of trees you picture here. It’s just so different from where I live.

    • giiid on

      Pearlz, that is one of the things I like about blogging, seeing other places and the daily life that are taking place. I am of course very curious about your place too. 🙂


Leave a Reply

