Spring onion mosaic

23 comments so far

  1. Reggie on

    I like your mosaics – this one is very unusual!

  2. burstmode on

    This is one of my favorites.

  3. Saint Jonny on

    Excellent piece. Who would’ve thought a spring onion could look so good!

    • giiid on

      Thank you Jonny. I didn´t know either, untill I happened to have my camera ready for taking a photo of a bird from the kitchen window. The bird disappeared a bit too fast…so…I had to look around for another motive. 🙂

  4. giiid on

    Thank you Reggie and Burstmode, I really appreciate to get feed back. 🙂

  5. Gerry on

    That is lovely. The onionskin reminds me of the gowns of the early 20th century–the ones with a simple, columnar shape, and a sheer overskirt. Come to think of it, art and architecture and design in that era took its inspiration from natural shapes in very direct ways. Anyway, I like the contrast between the sheer wrappings and the tangles of roots.

    • giiid on

      That was an interesting association. I looked at Google about the fashion at that time, and found French designer Poul Poiret: “His contributions to twentieth-century fashion have been likened to Picasso’s contributions to twentieth-century art”. One ought to know a clever designer like him, thank you!

  6. Camilla on

    This is so cool! I love onions (to eat that is, but still, this is really cool!) I’ve never seen anyone make an onion so beautiful. I love the shades of colors!

    • giiid on

      Thank you Camilla, that was really nice of you to give me such a compliment. I love onions too, even though a breath of fresh onions will keep most people at a distance. 🙂

  7. Scott Thomas Photography on

    Makes me tear right up. 🙂 These photos together are better than apart. Nicely done!

    • giiid on

      Very good, this will fresh up your eyes and make them ready for your next photo session.
      These photos are all croped specially for the use in a mosaic,I´ve tried to make them enrich eachother, and not compete. If one of them should be alone,I´d probably make it different. Thank you for the tears 😉

  8. milkayphoto on

    Every time I see your mosaics, I say, ‘hmmm, I should do one of them’ and then, of course I don’t. Good thing you do!!! 🙂 You always find interesting angles to shoot such a common item. The onions are happy!

    • giiid on

      Your charming critters are keeping you busy, I guess, but I´ll be patiently waiting to see a mosaic made by you one day. The happy onion (I had only one) asks me to say hallo and thank you for the nice words.

  9. Nye on

    Is it time to put them in the ground? You made everything look so artsy, and pretty.

    • giiid on

      I have found out, that everything can look pretty, it is just a matter of defining the object, finding its history and listen to it. And of course some tecnical circumstances. Very enjoyable. I am glad to know that you like it, thank you 🙂

  10. pearlz on

    Wow an artistic onion piece, love it… almost makes me cry??

    • giiid on

      Pearlz, you make me belive that you are very sensitive, at least having a very good imagination, – like myself. 🙂 Thank you for your nice comment.

  11. cindydyer on

    Well done, Birgitte! Love those collages!

    • giiid on

      Thank you, Cindy 🙂

  12. Kathy on

    I love your onion photos, too…although have no idea how you would actually DO one of those collages here on WordPress. The sheath–or onion skin–actually looks tender against the green. Don’t you think?

    • giiid on

      Yes, it looks tender, and it is .Probably because it was almost dry. This collage is made in another program, and saved normaly, as one picture. Next step is just like posting any other photo.

      I have made collages though, directly in WordPress.
      https://my2008blog.wordpress.com/2008/08/03/july-colour-mosaic/
      In a way, you are doing the same, when you are posting more than one photo. The difference is, that I in this case are making each photo smaller, than wordpress did in the first place. Click on it, and you will see the corners marked. You can minimize it then. If you do the same with the next photo, it will take the place beside the first one.
      Btw, your photos are very “big” if they are clicked at, it would be good for you to make them smaller. You will save space (mb) and make it less heavy to get your blog at the screen. How to do that is depending on a few things about the way you get your photos from the camera to the computer.
      …oh dear, I wonder if this is understandable…I can tell you more in Danish 😉

      • Kathy on

        Dear Birgitte…you are not the first person to suggest I make my photos smaller! You must be one of the people in the world who has dial-up service. I apologize. (Sigh…) I decided to write a blog to explain to everyone why I have chosen to publish high-definition photos for the past sixteen months. It’s–hopefully–a humorous answer to this subject: http://upwoods.wordpress.com/2010/05/03/why-the-dial-up-world-hates-me/
        Hope you enjoy it! Kathy (PS your English is quite good!)


Leave a Reply

