Happy Easter

Most people are having a “Easter lunch” with their familie these days. These photos are from a “Easter-lunch” made by my mother in 2006.

16 comments so far

  1. Nye on

    Happy Easter giiid, and thanks for sharing these lovely photos. It looked like your mom went all out, this is a precious memory to have of her.

    • giiid on

      Yes, it is a precious memory to have. You know about this. My mother enjoyed to prepare this lunch, I hope we told her clear enough how nice it was of her to make all this for us.

  2. pearlz on

    The table looks beautiful (: Happy Easter to you and your family.

    • giiid on

      Thank you 🙂
      I read that you in Australie doesn´t use the Easter bunny much, but prefere a Bilby? Very interesting.

  3. uphilldowndale on

    What a beautiful table setting (I covert the beautiful coloured glasses!) tell me, what is tied up with the yellow ribbon?

    • giiid on

      Thank you Mrs. Uhdd. My mother would have been proud of all these compliments. The glasses are turkish or arabic tea-glasses, they are sold in oriental shops.
      Your question about the paper, make me think about writing a post about the Danish tradition of making songs at celebrations. My mother wrote the menu, just for fun, but she arranged it as we do with songs.
      It is expected at weddings, birthdays, parties, that the close friends and family write a song about the person it all is about, and see to that everyone gets a copy and sing along. More about that later. My mother was refering to this tradition.

  4. thedailyclick on

    Beautiful table.
    Happy Easter!

    • giiid on

      Thank you.
      Are you keeping some of the German easter traditions alive? Like finding hidden eggs on easter sunday? We used to do this when I was a child. I saw the painted eggs at your blog, great to see that it is still done.

  5. Scott Thomas Photography on

    You can see the love and hard work your mother did to bring a cheerful and memorable experience to you and your family. Almost looks too good to eat at! LOL

    • giiid on

      I am sure that my mother enjoyed making this lunch, and I think we, the guests, all agreed that the little mushroom imitations was almost to cute to eat. The traditionel Danish “open sandwich” tradition attach importance of the appearance.

  6. Camilla on

    A late happy easter wishing. Hope you had a good holiday 🙂

    • giiid on

      Same to you, Camilla. Many Danes went to Norway, but not me unfortunately.

  7. Reggie on

    Such a beautiful, colourful table setting, Giiid! I am particularly curious about the little mushrooms! Are those hard-boiled eggs below the red-and-white cap?

    We didn’t celebrate Easter properly this year at all, but usually I insist on a little Easter Egg Hunt in the garden. But I didn’t know that’s a German tradition? Great! My husband and I are both German by birth (although we don’t come from Germany but from Namibia, which used to be a German colony) and we grew up with that Easter tradition – I love it!

    • giiid on

      Thank you. The mushrooms are made of boiled eggs and tomatos,-and a little mayonaise. The egg hunt is a German tradition, my grand mother was from Germany and she took the Easter hare with her, when she got married in Denmark. I suppose you know that it is the Easter hare who hide the eggs? As you write, The German past of Namibia seems to be a natural explanation of how the easter hare went all that way to you.

  8. cindydyer on

    Love it! I love, love, love that mushroom idea. Gonna use it at our next outdoor garden party for my garden club Weedettes. Too cute—thanks for the idea. Your mother is very creative—now we know where you got it from!

    • giiid on

      Oh yes, please use it! I would like to see how you arrange the table, I am sure you will decorate it beautifully. My mother would have been so proud having her mushrooms participating. She was very creative, but much to modest to believe in it. I lost her 3 years ago. Her name was Kirsten.


Leave a Reply

