Doesn´t this tree look a bit too tall…


Yes it does, let´s cut it a bit……..do you have any explosives?


Of course I have, I´m the gardener, you know!!


4 kg of dynamite should be enough…


It was.

” The deer park” (Dyrehaven),  is a 1000 hectares park north of Copenhagen. The trees are cut down this way, in attempt to make them look natural.

20 comments so far

  1. truels on

    What an interesting way to cut trees – in a gardeners eyes:-) I didn’t know it was done in that way too….

    • giiid on

      Maybe a new idea for your gardening work? 🙂

  2. thedailyclick on

    What?? Dynamite to cut back trees?? That’s strange… wouldn’t say it looks natural (more like a natural disaster! Maybe that’s what they mean?)

    • giiid on

      LOL!
      I agree, but I presume that time will make it look i bit more in harmony with itself.. This was explosion number 100, that´s why they invited people to come and look.

  3. Gerry on

    OK, I want to be sure I understand this. The gardener at the Deer Park whacks off the tops of large, graceful trees with dynamite in order to make a more natural appearance?? And this was the 100th whacking??

    My ears are pinned back in wonder and amazement. I have a couple guys here who’d be happy to come over there and top trees for you all day long. They’d even bring their own chainsaws. I have to go read the link.

    • giiid on

      Gerry, your guys sounds like they are a bit too efficient to be alone in a wood like this, – there will of course always be someone who appreciates a better view, though.

      The link I have postet in my answer to Scott will explain some, but in Danish.
      Actually I think many Danes are a bit surprised about this method too.

  4. Scott Thomas Photography on

    At first this seemed weird but it makes sense as the tree looked like it was either hit by lightning OR a wind storm came along and blew off the top. Very interesting.

    It also opens up the tree to critters and birds.

    • giiid on

      Scott, you are absolutely right, that is exactly what is explained about the idea, in this Danish text; http://www.kristeligt-dagblad.dk/artikel/360588:Danmark–Med-dynamit-skal-man-trae-faelde?rss (By dynamite, shall one cut down trees)

      The headline is written with a smile, refering to a quote written on front of the Danish lawbook from 1241 :”Med land skal man lov bygge” wich translated is something like: By the law, the country shall be build up). We use this quote at many places. Well that is another story.

  5. Nye on

    giiid, this is very interesting. In our area, they usually topped the tree off and it looks like a bad haircut. This seems more natural, kind of funny though.

    • giiid on

      It was a bit of a surprise to learn about this dynamite-gardening but as you mention is it a way to avoid this bad haircut…I love that picture, I can imagine how dissatisfied the trees are when it happens 🙂

  6. pearlz on

    that is one totally crazy way to cut trees down!

    • giiid on

      Yes, it sounds crazy, I agree. I think Scott explained the idea very well, though, and Nye followed with her impression of some topped trees. I will go back later this year, and take a photo of the tree with leaves.

  7. isathreadsoflife on

    Amazing pictures you managed to capture, giiid. The tree looks as if it had been hit by lightning (less the burnt), this is probably what the forestmen were aiming at. A more natural look.

    • giiid on

      I was prepared, and had my camera set on burstmode. Luckily, because I got so scared about the very heavy sound from the explosion, that my finger slipped the button… 🙂

      You are right about the natural look,that is what they want it to have. And to open it up for the animals.

  8. cindydyer on

    Well, well…you learn something new every day, don’t we? Loved the captions and thanks for the tree-blasting tour, Birgitte! 🙂

    • giiid on

      You´re welcome.
      The photos have been enlarged a lot, -(I was far away from the tree)- and these photos are meant as a little history more than a photographic work.
      I can see from all the comments though, that this history seems a bit strange, I think I´ll have to make a post with an explanation, before the Danes are seen as totally weird. 🙂

  9. Brenda Hudson on

    This looks like tree abuse. Weird.

    • giiid on

      You are right, it looks weird, but I can assure you, that this is made of the opposite reason. The Deer garden (Dyrehaven) is an old wood, with beech trees. When they are about 250-300 years old, they have reached their limit, and begins to be a danger to the people walking at the paths. Instead of cutting them, they are treated as if they were hit by a lightning. This will leave the tree open for animals, and let it disappear slowly and become a natural part of the cyclus in the wood. I will make a more detailed post about this, before too long. Thank you for your comment.

  10. Reggie on

    I too have never heard before of dynamiting trees to prune them – how peculiar! I wonder who first came up with the idea? Do you know who invented this method, Giiid?

    Thank you for sharing these photos with us – the captions are very funny! And well done, for capturing the shots!

    • giiid on

      Using dynamite to remove heavy weighted things or difficult removeable things has been used here for many years, I think the idea about using it at the big trees, is connected to the idea about keeping the wood in a natural balance, and that sounds like a newer idea to me…


Leave a Reply

