Sorry for waking you up…

I love my rake. I love to rake the dead leaves and withered grass away, and little by little find signs of spring under the brown winter cover. I know the birds likes me to do it; they are watching me from a  safe distance, ready to investigate the area as soon as I am leaving it.
Today was a nicely warm day, a true “rake day”. A spring-day. I went out and grabbed the rake. There are many dead leaves to be removed, but I am enjoying to do it. I worked with energy for a while, but suddenly I discovered a very sleepy bumblebee staggering sleepily a few steps. ( Not sure how to describe so many legs only walk a little, lets say a few Hunblebee-steps.) When I sat down to watch it, I was close enough to get  ” the look “. Too early, Mam. It stretched its legs…and went to sleep again.
Sorry for waking you up, little buddy, but thanks a lot for keeping still. Nice fur.

I have to control myself and my rake a bit longer. Rain tomorrow will help me doing that.

12 comments so far

  1. milkayphoto on

    Oooooh, sleepy li’l bumble! That third photo is precious! 🙂

    • giiid on

      Thank you. :-)I think it looks like a little “Teddy-bee”…

  2. Nye on

    Wow, I never noticed its coat before, nice shots.

    • giiid on

      The coat is ment to catch as much pollen as possible. When it is back home, it will shake it off into some kind of container. Very clever! 🙂

  3. Gerry on

    That is a wonderful sequence. Hope the bee has a nice nap and wakes refreshed. At least it’s dressed for the weather!

    • giiid on

      I´ve just found out, that only the bumblebee-queen is surviving the winter. She is hiding in a little (earth) lair, waiting for early spring, and a busy time making the nest. This one is called Bombus Lucorum. I think this name is quite suitable, it sounds as heavy as the sound of a flying bee. I was enjoying reading about my little garden queen, but as always, knowledge is not only fun. Now I know that there a fake bumblebee is waiting to kill her and take over the nest. It looks almost the same, but has another name, Psithyrus bohemicus.
      I´m expecting a dramatic summer in the garden.

  4. isathreadsoflife on

    This is a magnificent series, giiid ! A precious moment of Spring life. The quality of the pictures is just fabulous !

    • giiid on

      Thank you! Spring time is indeed full of precious moments, and imagination about how wonderful the comming months will be. Hopefully warm and joyful. I like all our 4 seasons, but spring is absolutely the most exciting. I imagine our weather is almost the same?

  5. erikatakacs on

    You’re such a good storyteller. So far I only saw a vasp, and loud chirping is waking me up in the morning. But I don’t mind it, even in the wee hours, the robins are so cute and they love to look for earth worms in my backyard. I’m waiting for my snowdrops and crocuses to bloom. Maybe today.
    Oh ,and love the rake shot!

    • giiid on

      I´ve said it before, but I realy appreciate that you, as a sculptor, reminding me of the 3D effect in a photo.
      The robins has come to my garden too, yesterday I was studying one, thinking that it has the most adorable profile. Too bad it moves so fast.

  6. Reggie on

    Beautiful shots, Giiid. I love the ‘teddy-bee’ look! Thanks for sharing and teaching us about bees! 🙂

    • giiid on

      You are right, it is a little teddy-bee. Better not stroke it though!


Leave a Reply

