My hometown

Since  2007, Denmark has been divided into five regions;  Capital Region of Denmark, Region Zealand, Region of Southern Denmark, Central Denmark Region and North Denmark Region, and 98 municipalities. I am living in the Capital region, wich are divided into 29 municipalities. Each municipality, wich are divided into a number of cities and villages, has its own mayor and a municipal council. My pictures are showing places about 10 km from the center of Copenhagen, my daily sight from the area where I have my home.

This  time of year, the weather is often rainy, gray and cold, and I´m afraid that my contribution with these gray photos to Scott Thomas´s assignment “my hometown” could scare most people from visiting the country. If it does, I understand! At least when it comes to visits in March.

Thank you for making this assignment Scott!

22 comments so far

  1. Scott Thomas Photography on

    Thank you, Birgitte! I promise the next time I ask for photos of your area, it will be during a more colorful time of year. Though I find these photos just as interesting as any with a blue sky. 🙂

    • giiid on

      Actualy it was a good challenge to get, trying to find interesting motives under these (gray)conditions. You know – it is told to be healthy for the brain to work with new things. 🙂

  2. burstmode on

    Denmark is one of the most beautiful and remarkable places I have ever visited. Great photos. Nice parking garage shot. I love garages.

    • giiid on

      Interesting. I noticed that the garage photo was talking to me at another level than the rest, but I didn´t give it another thought. I haven´t been aware of garages as motives, but maybe there are interesting things to find…

  3. Kathy on

    You did a lovely job with this assignment! I like so many of them. The shadow of the bike wheel spokes really appeals to me as well as the ceiling lines inside the garage and the last one with the person and the trees. But, truly, all of them are really good!

    • giiid on

      Thank you Kathy. I´m glad to see that you have been looking through them all. I liked the way you showed yours, with a little text. I´ll do that next time.

  4. isathreadsoflife on

    I was hoping you would make a mosaic 🙂 and am really happy you did. Such lovely sparks of you home town. I am attracted to mailboxes (writing and receiving letters), the lit up house is inviting, so is the road borded by trees. It’s nice to see where you live giiid, thanks for these creative views of your hometown.

    • giiid on

      I´ve just been wondering if this actually was a good idea to make a mosaik, after having seen the big photos with text at your and the other blogs. I´ve decided to make a post like that later, but for now, I´m happy to know that you like the mosaik solution. 🙂
      The colour of the mailbox have been named “postkasse-rød” (Letterbox-red). This is the common name for pantone 200c in Denmark.

  5. kanniduba on

    Such a wonderful representation of your hometown! There are some wonderful photos here!
    This has been a wonderful challenge, allowing us to experience places from all over the world. 🙂

    • giiid on

      I agree, it has been both interesting and fun to join. I love to learn about other places, seen through others eyes, just like it is possible to do at your contribution. Let´s see what Scott will find for the next challenge.

  6. truels on

    Thank you giiid for your pictures – and for encouraging me to take up Scott Thaomas’ challenge: I took my bike – and the air smelled of spring – and there WAS some spring-colours – lovely. But the time was 22.30 when I sat down with my camera and the pc – and around 00.03 (too late – I hope not Scott knows!! ) I finished…. Funny we both used mosaics

    • giiid on

      Great to see that you have joined the assignment fun. I´m sure you will make a very nice blog.

  7. Nye on

    Beautiful mosaic giiid. I think your town is beautiful whether rain or shine, one of the places I like to visit someday. 🙂

    • giiid on

      Thank you.
      I would like to see you here! 🙂

  8. pearlz on

    Thanks for visiting the blog, we get lots of rain where I live, I’ll have to feature some flooding photos, we get hot sticky weather with it – thanks for sharing your hometown on your blog.

    • giiid on

      I enjoyed to see your hometown!

  9. […] Birgitte, another prolific blogger from Denmark, checked in with one of her beautiful photo collages depicting scenes, places, people and things about her hometown near Copenhagen. […]

  10. Camilla on

    Nice shots! I miss Denmark.. Hoping for a lovely spring with lots of sunlight!

    • giiid on

      Thank you Camilla, and the same to you. And good luck with your new blog, I hope to see more photos of your lovely country among what you will bring in your posts.

  11. Reggie on

    What a beautiful collage, Giiid. Your hometown looks like a lovely place, very interesting! I look forward to learning more about it.

    And you take fantastic photos. 😀

  12. giiid on

    Thank you. I use to post some city photos now and then, mixed with my other photos. I like to learn about other places too, at the blogs it is much more personel and interesting.


Leave a Reply

