Tulips in March

The other day, I had a visit from an old school friend. She gave me a lovely buket of tulips, and we discussed how I could keep them fresh as long as possible, by giving them more or less water in the vase.
I´ve found one more way to keep them, and even share their spring message and happy colours with you. Here you are; Tulips in March.

18 comments so far

  1. izziedarling on

    I’ve found that if you put a penny in the bottom of the vase, they last so much longer. Thanks for the beautiful visuals.

  2. giiid on

    Thank you very much for an interesting advice. I suppose it is the metal that does the trick? I have been looking at Wikipedia to find out what metal a penny is made of, but it depends on from wich year it is;

    FROM WIKIPEDIA:
    1793–1857 copper
    1857–1864 88% copper, 12% nickel (also known as NS-12)
    1864–1942 bronze (95% copper, 5% tin and zinc)
    1943 zinc-coated steel (also known as steel penny)
    1944–1946 brass (95% copper, 5% zinc)
    1946–1962 bronze (95% copper, 5% tin and zinc)
    1962–1982 brass (95% copper, 5% zinc)
    1982–2009 97.5% zinc core, 2.5% copper plating
    2009 (Limited) bronze (95% copper, 5% tin and zinc)
    2010–present 97.5% zinc core, 2.5% copper plating

  3. izziedarling on

    Has to be the copper, what little is left. Have never looked at the year, but my tulips last up to two weeks before bowing over.

  4. milkayphoto on

    It will be weeks before I see anything this lovely blooming outdoors. Thanks for reminding me it will come! 🙂
    (Nice tip about the penny…didn’t know that but will give it a try).

  5. Scott Thomas Photography on

    What a lovely way to share these with us. You haven’t done a collage in awhile. So colorful! Will have to check out our local farmer’s market soon to enjoy such a variety of colors.

  6. burstmode on

    OK, I am going to add tulips next year…so beautiful.

  7. Gerry on

    Oh, so lovely! I opened the post and the collage unfolded before my eyes just like a flower opening.

  8. babs on

    Gorgeous! I’m looking forward to real flowers in the yard!

  9. isathreadsoflife on

    That is the most beautiful Spring bouquet, giiid ! Thank you for this colourful shower of tulips. I usually put a 5 centime of copper in a vase of tulips, it seems to work fine.

  10. Nye on

    Absolutely beautiful giiid. I’m looking forward to the festival of flowers at Biltmore Estate in April, lots of tulips there. 🙂

  11. deirdrea on

    This is gorgeous! Thank you so much for posting this!!

  12. Maggie on

    Great use to different view points of the different tulips and how they were put together!

  13. thedailyclick on

    BEAUTIFUL!! I didn’t know that about the penny either, and will definitely try that next time I buy tulips (and hope that my kids won’t try to get that penny OUT of the vase! LOL)
    Did you take a picture of the whole bouquet, too?

    • giiid on

      No, I didn´t, but I see what you mean, it could have been beautiful.

  14. giiid on

    Thank you for all of these nice commnts.

  15. cindydyer on

    Lovely little collage of tulips, Birgitte! Thanks for sharing!

    • giiid on

      I am so glad you like it Cindy, – master of flower photos! 🙂


Leave a Reply

