Friend or food

 

I went outside to take some photos. It is still very cold, and the snow makes it difficult for the birds to find food. I noticed that “my garden-blackbird” didn´t flew away when I came close to it, and I was wondering if it had become tame.

For several minutes we were looking at eachother, without any of us felt like running away. I imagined myself as a trusted friend of wild birds,  next step would probably be talking with them. What a joy. My eyes catched something lying in the snow between us…it was…an old apple. I realized that my bird friend actualy was guarding this apple, and most likely ready to scare me away, if nessesary. It had no intension of being friendly or talk with me or any other romantic idea. Just to eat and keep being alive!

 I wonder if I look like a big hungry bird….

11 comments so far

  1. Dinesh on

    OMG!! This is very sweet. Kudos,how u’ve taken the snap.
    btw which bird is this? n which camera u r using?
    Regards

    • giiid on

      Thank you Dinesh, I am glad that you like my bird.I´ve just been out with another apple, because the snow is all ower today.
      The blackbird is one of the most common birds here, and almost every garden have one.
      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Common_Blackbird

      They live solo at this time a year, but when spring comes, they want to find a partner, and the male starts singing as creative as it can. It include any kind of sound that could impress a female bird, – my mother had one who copied the sound from a mobilephone. This is of course both nice and fun to lissent to.

      Take a look at this video, these people got a little tirred of their Blackbirds choise of sound.

      http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/article1406586.ece

      By the way, have you heard The Beatles sing “Blackbird”?http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-ERnT1X9HPw

  2. isathreadsoflife on

    What a lovely Winter and survival story 🙂 your pictures are amazing. Your blackbird must have been starving to stand by his apple in front of this big hungry bird. Lovely !

    • giiid on

      Thank you.
      Isa, I wonder if you have a special tradition of how to help hungry birds, as you have a lot more snow than we use to have? Usualy we give them small pieces of bread/cheese, some (mostly older people) mix seed with grease, to make a hard piece. Busy people buy it made ready to throw to the birds. I suppose this is common every where?

  3. Gerry on

    This is a wonderful post, Birgitte! Besides the beautiful images, I loved the story, and my mental picture of you as a Giant Bird. Feisty little blackbird to defend its apple!

    We have whole stores devoted to bird-feeding. Here’s a website for Wild Birds Unlimited in Traverse City: http://traversecity.wbu.com/ You’ll be amazed at the variety of things people do to have the pleasure of bird company in the garden.

    • giiid on

      Well yes, I am impressed! But I am used to the fact, that America not only have everything bigger, but also have the most surprisingly products to offer. Probably we will do the same in some years. Until then, I can continue my old fashion apple feeding, and still attract birds – that will be old fashion birds of course.

  4. burstmode on

    btw—I speak to my flowers. Its been years since they answered but it isn’t really their words that interest me.

    Love the blackbird…

    • giiid on

      Talking to flowers should make them grow better, is the old saying. …I often wonder if this is because they like the CO2 we exhale…
      Your talk to the flowers seems to be effective, according to your beautiful photos. I wil try the same. 🙂

  5. isathreadsoflife on

    Yes giiid, we do have this tradition of helping birds getting through long cold Winters. We mix some fat with seeds in a kind of ball and place it on a high branch, far enough from cats. Or we also buy it in shops. Birds do appreciate little bits of apples or bread. Crows fight over cheese !

  6. Nye on

    The blackbird looks thankful that you didn’t try to run him off. You must have got pretty close to get such nice shots.

  7. kcjewel on

    such a sweet story and beautiful capture of your little friend


Leave a Reply

