Cat, snow and sun

11 comments so far

  1. drusillah on

    I like it! 😀 Footprints on fresh snow … 🙂

    • giiid on

      Yes, very revealing! Unfortunately also for the thief, who want to know if anybody is at home!

  2. thedailyclick on

    Very nice!
    Nothing is more fun than making footprints in fresh now 🙂
    Looks like you got a lot of snow!

    • giiid on

      Yes, we got A LOT!! And there will be more in the comming week. Some areas have been almost closed by snow. I might put some snow photos on…

  3. Beyond Bluestockings on

    Birgitte, is the “something special” red, on the building in this picture? I have the vaguest recollection that your country has something particular about that red?

    • giiid on

      Yes, you are quite right. It is an old Swedish tradition to preserve wodden houses with this special paint. You will find many houses in that particular color in Sweden. The Swedish name is “Falu red”, after the town Falun, where some of the ingredients originaly came from, – (a cobber mine).
      Danes likes the color, we call it “Swedish red” (SVENSK RØD), and use it as well for preserving wood. It should be easy and cheap to make yourself, I doubt that it is common to do, though. I´ll let Wikipedia continue:

      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Falu_red

      • Gerry on

        Its astonishing how much I learn about Sweden from reading your very Danish blog! As always, I love the red – it just warms the spirit on a winter day, doesn’t it? – but this composition is also a wonderful piece of storytelling.

        Giiid:
        Gerry, I´m glad you saw this, because while writing it, I was thinking that it might interest you, having these Swedish roots…actually this makes you a kind of enemy, but never mind, I´ll forgive you the Swedish football succes and other cruel Swedish behaviour. One can´t be responsible for everything ones tribe are doing!

  4. erikatakacs on

    I love this! 🙂

    • giiid on

      I´m glad to know!

  5. Nye on

    giiid, very nice composition, I like the paw prints. 🙂

    • giiid on

      Now I can see where the cats are walking. We have about 3-4 passing the garden, on their way around the area. I know when they are comming, because the birds are always complaining very loudly, but usualy they are difficult to see.


Leave a Reply

