Looking foreward to one more blog year

When my mother died, my 4 siblings and I had to empty and sell her house, our childhood home. Not an easy job,  we were very attached to it, and had great difficulties to imagine strangers taking over. My parents build the house the years we grew up, and our playground was the building site. Particularly my brothers helped with whatever they could, and as the house took shape, our picture of the world was weaved with the sight of bricks, wood, and glass collected into a beautiful house.

I decided to take a lot of photos, from all the good angles, before we left the house.  The ordinary photos of the house were fine to have, but I wanted to take some that showed how it felt being in it. Thinking of how to catch that feeling with my camera, send me on an eye-opening tour. What was it that made us feel comfortable  in this house, when it comes to things that one can photograph?

The simplicity, the raw look from the natural materials and specially…the light.  The glass walls and skylights made the rooms look different throughout the day. At sunny days there would be shadows in all angles and shapes, a living artwork at the interior.

Now that I had a an idea I started my hunt. Detail of detail. After a year I had thousands of photos, and a new way to look at a motive; close, – very close. And some questions to ask about LIGHT, – and HISTORY- what is the point of photographing this object?

Now we have reached the point where you, my dear blogfriend are entering the story. 

Not many friends or family have patience to see photos of details – every day. I decided to make a blog. As my blog name clearly show, I didn´t expect much of it though, and great was my surprise, when I received my first comment, even with a compliment. This was from Babs. I continued to post photos,  to find interesting blogs to my blogroll, and to receive comments. My blog was alive.

One day, I posted a photo of my mothers rose. I didn´t know that roses are such a valued flower at the internet, but from that day, the numbers of visitors increased dramatically. Out of my 100.000 visiters, I think half of them is coming from Google search, not only because of this rose, but mainly.

Having a blog and blogfriends sending comments, means getting inspiration of all kind, from all over the world. Every day. Every hour, if one should have the time.  I often look at the internet for more information about subjects mentioned in your blogs. I have learned a lot about geography, climate, food, animals, behaviour, culture, a lot of english words, and most of all, I have learned that wonderful friendly, humorous and clever people are everywhere. I am really glad to have you all as my blogfriends, I wish I could write a personal thank to everyone, mentioning your blog, but my writting is slow, as I have to think and write in a foreign language, and I have already been too long writing this.

Thank you everyone.

16 comments so far

  1. thedailyclick on

    Birgitte, that was such a beautiful post. A joy to read.
    I can’t remember how I found your blog… probably clicked on the link in someone else’s blog roll.. but I’m so glad I did. I always look forward to your posts, and I’m so happy that you will continue to blog 🙂
    Your parents’ house sounds amazing, I would love to see pictures of it some day.

    • giiid on

      It was me who found you, I think from a link at Scotts blog, long time ago. I went to see both your blog and your website http://michaelab.zenfolio.com/notecards, and was delighted by your beautiful and well croped cards. I enjoy reading and seeing your mix of artphoto and of the daily life in Texas, – a life long away from here and yet close because of your German childhood. Thank you for your nice comment.

  2. Nye on

    Our mother’s death was something that we’ve in common, I’m glad that I found your blog, and thanks for inspiring me to take photos. When you added me to the photo section of your blogroll, I’ve to live up to it. 😉

    And looking forward to another great year, and hope to see your mom’s house someday. 🙂

    • giiid on

      Ginger, I was so surprised when I learned that we have lost our mothers nearly at the same time. It is comforting to know about other persons having been through the same sad matter, and who are thinking the same thoughts.
      I am not sure about how I found your blog, but it is a long time ago. I enjoy very much to read it, (except maybe for the scary post at halloween wich almost gave me a heart attack 😉 ) always interesting and informative. I am learning from you about a culture that I didn´t know much about before.

  3. isathreadsoflife on

    What a beautiful tribute to your parents and family life in and around your house-of-light. Interesting to see how one event leads to another and now here you are, sharing your pictures with us. I appreciate your way of looking at life and its various angles. Thank you giiid.

    • giiid on

      I was so glad when you entered my blog one day, your obviously have a great and sensitiv understanding of beauty in all its mode of expressions, an understanding that sends good vibrations every time you post a new blogpost or send a comment. I am curious to see more of your quilt, and to know more about your country, with its interesting structure, e.g. the many languages. I´m most likely not the only one who associate Schweiz with chokolate, pocket knifes and bank-secret. And of course The red cross. 🙂

  4. Anjeanette on

    Sweet!! I am delighted to have found your blog too! I have been on a quest to learn more about where I came from and for that I am thankful I found your blog! You are very nice to share your stories that go along wiht the pictures with us.

    Thank YOU!

    • giiid on

      Your interest for Denmark, because of your Danish roots, gave me a new subject and one more reason to blog. It has been fun to look for motives, that could show a little, and to think about what kind of habits could be interesting to write about. Your own blog is very personal, and I am so glad that you have chosen to invite me to read it, after you have made it private,- wich I think have been a good choice, when one write as personal and sensitive as you do. I wish you all the best with your new project.

  5. Gerry on

    Dear heart, this was such a lovely post to read. I hope one day you’ll make a book from your study of your mother’s house and the family life it cradled. I have learned a great deal from looking at the world through your eyes, and have taken great pleasure in reading what you write. Thank you for that.

    • giiid on

      Gerry, you are pointing directly at a deep wish, – to make a book or in some other way preserve the story of a talent, that managed to convert the sence of esthetic, diciplin and perfectionism, into a physical objects of great beauty. I suppose that a great talent often get power to act from some kind of pain, in this case possibly the loss of parents as a child. Denmark is too small for making books, unless one is a great writer, but it is of course always possible to make a “Photo book”.

      Thank you for this dear comment.
      Reading your comments are always a pleasure, I´m usualy smiling and sometimes laughing when I have finished, wich not always are understandable when I try to explain myself to the curious people around me. I am realy enjoying how you play with the language, and I am doing my best to remember all your interesting words and sentences.

  6. Scott Thomas Photography on

    Birgitte, it has been a joy to come here and see your photos and to learn about your life and traditions. Thank you for what you have done and for continuing to share what will come.

    • giiid on

      We both started our blogs in january 2008, and became blogfriends a few month later. This means that I have been able to follow your blog, and how you have developed it and made it a meetingpoint for many bloggers. I think that you love tecnical progress as much as my husband and son, perhaps this is a male thing, anyway it means that your blog is equiped with not only photos, but also information about how to make them better, twitter notes, giftshop and something that I realy enjoy; your assignments.
      I imagined that it would be a bit of a job to manage, but when I read about how you have made plans for the comming year already, it hit me that your daughter are working with systems…wonder who she got that interesse from? Anyway a benefit for your blogfriends. Thank you for arranging this photo fun.
      (I love systems too, – or one side of me do, the other one loves a mess, so I am always occupied!)

  7. erikatakacs on

    That was a beautiful post, just as beautiful as your photography. Many blogs don’t survive the first anniversary, you and I started about the same time over two years ago I think, and still going strong. Keep going! 🙂

    • giiid on

      Erika, I think you are one of my oldest blogfriend, as far as I remember did some of your paperwork catch my eye back then. Your progress in work with sculptures has been interesting to follow. I have seen a sensitive artist get more and more comfortable with working in the open, I think you have made some beautiful sculptures and I have the feeling that you will continue to strenghten YOUR personal and special way to express yourself. You asked me long time ago about some structures, that was fun to look for, and very good to be aware of. Thank you for many nice comments, let´s continue our blog journey together.

  8. drusillah on

    What a beautiful post you wrote … 🙂 I’m sorry you lost your mother. 😦

    It’s interesting how from some thoughts and ponderings came a whole chapter of photography and light. ^^ I also appreciate details, in artwork or in photos.

    • giiid on

      I am glad that you felt like sending your reflections and responding at this post, thank you.


Leave a Reply

