Nisser


Nisser is everywhere in December. Here is one of them, resting against a (candle) tree.


More about nisser at this post from December 2008

17 comments so far

  1. isathreadsoflife on

    Lovely and peaceful looking creature :)Nisser’s spirit changed over the centuries, didn’t it ?

    • giiid on

      Yes, indeed, they have changed. Back in the old times, they were small invisible creatures, living at the farms, always kind against animals but cheating the farmer if he didn´t behave correctly. Later on, their shape were used as christmas-ornament, and the good press, -as Gerry call it-, began. We still have danish words about mistakes, refering to nisser, though.

  2. Gerry on

    I think he’s looking pensive because he’s plotting something. Nisser have had a good press in recent centuries, but I am deeply skeptical. Comes of living with the Cowboy. 😉

    • giiid on

      You have every reason to be skeptical about this nisse and any other nisser. I´ve never trusted this one, and can´t figure out how he managed to get a seat at this blog, but at least this is nothing to talk about, compared with what nisser can do if they get annoyed. Burn down a farm, for instance. I suppose being exposed at the internet will exclude this risk.
      This reminds me of the porridge we have to give him in december…I better make it and place it at the loft. (How fun, we use the same word in Danish “loft”)

      The other day we had some workmen comming to do some work at the loft. Before they went up the ladder, my husband warned them about the bowl with porridge that might be there. Did they look surprised? No, not at all. Nisser have made their presense quite clear throughout centuries.

  3. thedailyclick on

    It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas 🙂

    • giiid on

      I´m working hard on making it look a bit like christmas in the house, but I must admit that I am looking foreward to put all the stuff back in the big box…it would probably be more fun to decorate if there were some kids around 🙂

  4. Nye on

    If you didn’t say so, I would have thought it’s Santa. 🙂

    • giiid on

      He is very proud to know that 🙂

  5. Scott Thomas Photography on

    He looks like he’s plotting something to me.

    Do you have a flash for your camera? I think a little more light would make Nisser glow like the candle he is helping to hold up.

    • giiid on

      Neither you or Gerry would be easy to fool by any Nisse, even though they are masters of cheating. You might even be favored by this, now that you have showed concern about his glow.

      I agree with you about the light, I haven´t done my best with this photo, it was just a quick shot at a dark day. I have a flash, but never use it, as it make the shadows so hard. I will blame the Nisse for it all, (which is an absolutely normal thing to do in our culture) and consider using the flash occasional, now that you have spend time sending me this tip.

      • Scott Thomas Photography on

        If you are using a pop-up flash on your camera, it’s hard not to get those hard shadows.

        I use an external flash which sits in the hot-shoe with a flash head I can move. That lets me bounce the flash off ceilings and walls which helps to soften the light and give more natural looking shadows.

        reply
        You are right, this could be interesting to try. Might be a good wish for christmas. Thank you, Scott!

  6. burstmode on

    I like that he looks so…elven. I also like the softness of the image.

  7. flandrumhill on

    When I was growing up, my grandmother always had nisser-type Christmas ornaments on the tree and around the house. They were always a very magical part of the holidays for me. I was so glad to learn more about them in both your posts. Thanks 🙂

    • giiid on

      That is nice to know. I wonder what her backrgound for this was, did she bring the tradition from another place? I´ll make another nisse-post.

      • flandrumhill on

        No, she was French-Canadian and gnomes, elves or nisser are not part of their tradition. She did love chocolate though, and in Canada, Laura Secord is the most popular chocolatier. In the 1960s, they attached elves to many of their products. I think this might be what started her collection.

  8. giiid on

    I just read about Laura Secord and the chocolate named after her, very interesting reading.


Leave a Reply

