Counting the days

This candle has 24 numbers, one for each day until christmas at 24.12.  The tradition with counting down by burning a candle bit by bit, is told to be older than the 67 years that have passed sine a firm in 1942 started to produce and sell “calender-candles”.  Before that time, people managed to make the candle-counting in one way or another, without help from professional candle counting designers and salesmen. But that is of course looong time ago…

17 comments so far

  1. thedailyclick on

    That brings back memories…
    We’re counting the days with chocolate-filled Advent calendars for the kids 🙂

    • giiid on

      That sounds delicious!

  2. kcjewel on

    I think I “need” one of these and also one of those little birds in your previous post. I bet it has a story too!! You photographs make me smile.

    • giiid on

      That´s nice to know, -about the smile! I´m glad. The little bird is made out of a little painted plaster head, on a spruce cone. It should be quite easy to make, if one has the time. This one is very old, I can´t remember if we made it when I was a child. It´s interesting to take photos og these small things, and see them in another light when they are enlarged at the computer screen.

  3. Dinesh on

    Hmmm nice candle and happy xmas to you in advance. Me too happy here coz will get away from office work ;). Who love office? at least I’m not 😉

    • giiid on

      Thank you. A creative mind should work at a nice and inspiring office, I wish you this, but now that you have a little son, no office can be as interesting as being home with him.

  4. isathreadsoflife on

    What a lovely tradition and picture ! We are opening a window each day of the Advent’s calendar… remembering the excitement of the boys some years ago 🙂 Happy Advent’s time, giiid.

    • giiid on

      It sounds like we have the same calender-tradition; opening a window and see a new picture every day. One of the many old German traditions we have joined here in DK.

  5. burstmode on

    This is a lovely tradition. I have not seen it before.

    • giiid on

      It´s not often one get the chance to present something new, now that the internet tells everything, so I am glad I got the chance to tell about calender candles in Denmark before you got the idea to search for it…. 😉

  6. Maggie on

    So where can I get one? Great picture!

    • giiid on

      I thought it might be able to buy one at the internetshop with danish things, but calender candles are not at the list. I would gladly send you one, but I´m afraid it is a little problematic to send a candle without breaking it, another thing is that they usualy are sold out the first week of december. If you are desperate for having one, let me know, maybe I could find one 🙂

  7. Nye on

    This is such a neat idea, must be a very tall candle. 🙂

    • giiid on

      We use candles for both special occasions, and in daily life. They can be found in all colors and all sizes, thick, thin, small, tall, the calender-candles are at the size of candles for special occasions, not realy tall…but it is of course a matter of what it is compared to. I have read that this massive daily use of candles is special for this part of the world, and recently I heard something about how doctors warn about the small particles that are produced when the candles are burning. They recomend to drop the daily use.of

  8. Anjeanette on

    Oh! We had these candles when we were kids. We would burn it each night in December. I had planned on buying one this year, but decided my 3 year old Dane, was too small still for burning candles. I really want to do this! Thanks for sharing!!

    • giiid on

      It is nice that you show some of these old Danish traditions to your kids, and by this, pass on a bit of living history. They will get a more directly connection to their ancestors, and be able to study their roots later on, if this should be of interest.


Leave a Reply

