Christmas cactus

Problems with the internet connection in the past week made it impossible for me to make any new post. Now that it seems to be in order, I´ll immediately post a colourful photo, to offset the dark november collage. This little chistmas cactus is from my mothers home. She bought it a few months before she died. Every winter, it sends me these wonderful red flowers, reminding me of how unpredictable our life is.

21 comments so far

  1. Maggie on

    The colors are so great in that picture. They really pop against the darker background of the picture. It’s a great macro shot of the flower.

  2. giiid on

    Hi Maggie. Thank you for your nice comment. 🙂

  3. Nye on

    I saw this at Biltmore and didn’t know what it was at first until someone walked pass and told me that it was a Christmas Cactus. It was so small, but you’ve managed to bring it to life here, love the colors.

    • giiid on

      I´m not sure about their maximum size, I´ve tried to google that question without any luck. Close-up photos often bring life to objects that didn´t seem to be interesting at first sight, is my experience. Thank you anyway for the nice compliment.

  4. thedailyclick on

    Very pretty! I keep seeing Christmas cacti at the stores but have never bought one. Maybe I will this year.

    Glad your Internet is fixed!

    • giiid on

      For some unknown reason, the internetfirm changed important codenumbers, without telling either customers or people working at the service-line! Luckily my husband managed to solve the problem, but that was some of a job…DNS,TCI,IP,WAN,LAN…I began wondering if I should take a course, to be prepared for next time.

  5. isathreadsoflife on

    What a beautiful and luminous souvenir of your Mother, giiid. Your picture is superb !

    • giiid on

      Thank you for a nice comment, Isa.

  6. Dinesh on

    So close 🙂 Nice capture, give this flower to me 😀

    • giiid on

      Of course, and you can pass it on to your wife 🙂

  7. Gerry on

    Such a vibrant cactus–and sunshine! In November! Who would have imagined it?

    I’d be very happy if a glimpse of a brilliant, faithful bloom made my well-loved son think of me.

    • giiid on

      You are right, there haven´t been many chances to catch the sun shining at anything, this month, but I was prepared well armed and very fast! Thank you for lovely reflections about being remembered.

  8. Dinesh on

    sure I will 🙂

  9. flandrumhill on

    How beautiful giid! You even managed to capture the luminescence of the petals.

    • giiid on

      Thank you for your nice comment.

  10. CheyAnne Sexton on

    this is wonderfully fun. I know what you mean about photographing these things tho. I haven’t had nearly the luck you have. Great job
    and thanks for the comment on my blog now I just need to get my journaling thoughts together again
    peace and abundance,
    CheyAnne

    • giiid on

      I´m glad to see you back blogging again!

  11. Scott Thomas Photography on

    Big and red, bright and detailed. Sure does brighten up my day. Really like how you composed this shot and use of the macro.

    • giiid on

      Thank you Scott, I´m proud to know that my photo can lighten up you day. 🙂

  12. kcjewel on

    Oh my, this is absolutely gorgeous! I’m a bit worried about mine… it doesn’t even have buds yet. It is 11 years old so maybe it needs a “rest”??!!

  13. giiid on

    11 years..how wonderful, I didn´t know that they can get that old. I suppose you have done something to keep it alive, new soil? Thank you for the compliment!


Leave a Reply

