November

november collage 1 700X699

Scott  Views Infinitum has made a new assignment, this time the theme is “November”. Please join if you like.

November in Denmark means increasing darkness, bad weather and not many people at the streets. This year, we have had only 3 (three) hours of november-sunshine. My collage is made by photos taken the past days, sorry for the missing optimism. I´ll make a more colorfull as my next post.

I´ve said it before; this kind of weather is a good reason to stay inside and HYGGE, with a lot of christmas cakes and candy. Did I tell you that christmas is here? Well it is – in the shops! And we, -the customers- are easy to persuade buying it all, in the name of  HYGGE. No one can see the extra weight it causes anyway, in these dark months.

23 comments so far

  1. burstmode on

    Its beautiful, though. I love the rainy shots through the glass.
    November in Houston is slightly cooler than October, which is slightly cooler than September which is summer.

    I am sorry for your lack of sunshine…it would make me insane.

    • giiid on

      🙂 I cant blame you. Maybe we are getting insane too, we have to wait and see. My friend from Spain, who was living here 1 year, was desperate in the end, waiting for spring to come. To avoid depressions, we can buy a daylight lamp, which one has to sit in front of half an hour a day. Some hospitals offers that kind of treatments. Others just leave a week for a vacation at Gran Canaria. This is a bit more cosy than the lamp.

  2. Scott Thomas Photography on

    Normally our November is much like yours. It’s the cloudiest month of the year. Not this year, it’s been clear, warm and sunny for most of the month so far (knock on wood!). As I’ve said before, you know to to put a collage of photos together. Here’s to HYGGE?

    • giiid on

      The weather realy is unpredictable these years! I´ll have to go to your blog to get the daily dose of good weather, then 🙂

  3. thedailyclick on

    I like the rainy shots through the windows, too.
    Hope your November gets a little sunnier!

    • giiid on

      Thanks!
      The rainy shots were made from the car, the other day. I actually intended to open the window, when the red lights were on, but it was raining too much. I remembered how your rainy photos,(from your vacation?)was quite narrative and decided to make some too.

  4. Nye on

    giiid, even though my November looks a lot brighter than yours, but I rarely get to see that since I’m at work during the daylight, and come home in the dark. The reality looks and feels very much like yours.

    Beautiful November Mosaic, as always. 🙂

    • giiid on

      Thank you Ginger.
      Week-ends are a very good invention!

  5. flandrumhill on

    giid, with such darkness and rainy days, it’s no wonder that you Danes are such hygge experts. I learned about hygge years ago and aspire to it as well as I can on my side of the Atlantic. In all of Canada, I believe Nova Scotians value coziness the most. Perhaps it is because we have such bad weather for 6 months of the year!

    • giiid on

      It must be wonderful to live almost surrounded by water, as you do in Nova Scotia. I wonder if this has a great influence on the life there. I will definately follow your blog and hopefully learn more about this, beside seeing your beautiful photos. Thank you for commenting this post.

  6. isathreadsoflife on

    Beautiful mosaic, giiid ! You did manage to find some colours 🙂 A nice blending of dark and less dark days and a mood we also know well in Switzerland although it has not been too bad this year.

    • giiid on

      Thank you. Let see how the winter will be this year. When it comes to Switzerland, there are no doubt about the wish from all the ski-enthusiastic people here, and I guess from everywhere around Europe too, a lot of snow! Holiday on ski is a ray of comfort to many Danes. I wonder if you are looking foreward to this massive visit or maybe to the end of the season? 🙂

  7. Dinesh on

    Denmark!! hmm really lovely shots. Its raining 🙂 this reminds me Madona’s song “Rain…falling on my finger tips..”
    Take care

    • giiid on

      Thank you Dinesh. I am always glad to have a comment from you, a graphic designer colleague. I´m not sure what kind of weather you have, but I suppose you are having monsuun? Our rain are distributed over the whole year. Today with storm and 10 degrees… very good weather for sitting in front of a computer.

  8. miekmiek on

    love the picture of your son when he was small I think, mine turned …19 today.
    I think that you are right the world already is a better place, if we would only just notice it and it is often in the everyday things That there is real beauty.

    Miek

    • giiid on

      Hi miekmiek. Thank you for sending your comment. I have seen your blog, and with a little help from Google translate also read about your new art decoration firm. This will be very interesting to follow, I am looking forward to see how it will turn out. Good luck.

  9. kanniduba on

    What a lovely bunch of photos giid!
    You have captured the dismal feel of the month, however, I still see the beauty. 🙂

    • giiid on

      Thank you. Actualy it was a bit of a challenge to me, to select only dark photos, I love colours too much to ignore them. I had to promise myself, that the next post will be very colorfull. You have made a nice november contribution at your blog. 🙂

  10. Gerry on

    Truly says “November.” My favorite piece in the mosaic: the dry leaves under the table and chair. I can almost hear them rustle, and I’m sure I can feel the cold breezes that drifted them there.

    • giiid on

      This one is my favorite too. I´m looking foreward to sit at that bench again, looking out at a warm and colourfull garden – and our busy blackbird. Thank you Gerry.

  11. Maggie on

    Great collage of pictures. That reminds me of Maine novemebrs, they’re dark and rainy. The pictures work really nicely together.

    • giiid on

      Are you from Maine? It seems to be an interesting place., maybe you are writing some about it at your blog? I´ll go and see. Thank you very much for your comment. 🙂

  12. Maggie on

    I’m actually from Ohio, but I go to university in Maine, but am currently in Florence, Italy for the semester studying Renaissance art.


Leave a Reply

