Grown-up.

nov 480X700

My son is 18 today. “Come of age” is what I can find in the wordbook right now. We are calling it “MYNDIG”, which means that he according to the law is a grown-up.

He is allowed to vote, to drive a car, (with a license), sign any dokument, get any kind of payment card, borrow money, get married, buy cigarets, ……oh dear, life was more easy, when all there was to worry about, was if the hiding place would be discovered……. At least for me! 🙂

Happy birthday!

12 comments so far

  1. thedailyclick on

    Happy Birthday to your son!
    It’s so bittersweet to see your children grow up.

    • giiid on

      Thank you. Yes, you are so much right about the bittersweetnes.

  2. isathreadsoflife on

    Joyeux Anniversaire to your son ! “Majeur” would probably be the French word for “Myndig”. And what a lovely way to remember his earlier years 🙂 I hope you all have a wonderful celebration.

  3. Jonny Raine on

    He doesn’t look 18 in the photo!

  4. Nye on

    So he is all Grown Up! You should celebrate. 🙂

    • giiid on

      Yes, we should, and of course we do. 🙂

  5. Gerry on

    That may be one of the dearest photos I’ve ever seen. It reminds me of another little boy who is now very much older than 18. Oh, how I miss his little self. And how I love the man he has become. Happy (belated) Birthday, Grown-Up Son of Giid!

    • giiid on

      Your comment made me very glad. You are writing so lovely about your son, and the words “..his little self” is such a precisely description of the time together with a little thinker. How I love to hear children philosophize. I have filed many notebooks with episodes like this one, a day he called at me, and said: “mother, look, an old spider!!” I came to see; it truely looked very tired, actually it was quite dried. “it´s just dead” I said. He took another look at it, …(thinking a little more)…then asked thoughtful “Yes, but who shot it?”

      This kind of notes still makes me laugh, and I love to know that you most likely do too.

  6. awalkabout on

    indeed it’s a lot more challenging when they get out and big! 🙂 but you survived it! Good luck!

    • giiid on

      Thank you to an experienced mother. 🙂


Leave a Reply

