The black-smith´s house

smedens hus

The black-smiths house (1845) and the village pond.

20 comments so far

  1. erikatakacs on

    I love the bright colours on this one. It’s a good size home, the blacksmith was making a good living.
    In Hungary the open air museum is called skanzen. Sounds very Scandinavian, doesn’t it?

  2. erikatakacs on

    Yes, they’re similar in some ways, but they both have local flavours. Since you are interested Birgitte, I found a very good YouTube video about the skanzen in Szentendre, a picturesque town near the bend of the Danube, that also hosts an artist colony:

    So I guess skanzen is not coming from Danish. :)thanks for the translation.

    • giiid on

      Thank you Erika, I have seen it, and also some of the differences between Danish and Hungary old houses. I guess that different religion and weather have had a great influence on this.
      One thing is is the ornaments, the Danish houses doesn´t have much of this. This difference between Scandinavian and eastern style is still alive.

  3. Nye on

    Great photo! This is absolutely charming, I love the pond next to it.

    • giiid on

      Thank you, Ginger. I think too that this little house is charming. The half-timbered houses were painted in different colors, depending of which part of the country there were made in. On Fuen, where this house is from, they painted the timber in black or red, and the rest of the house in another color. On Zealand, they apparently didn´t have that much patience, and made it all white.

  4. dinesh on

    This is lovely 🙂

    • giiid on

      Thank you Dinish. I would love to see some photos from India 🙂

  5. grace on

    Love this photo with the reflection of the cottage in the pond. How lovely! I am forever inspired and sometimes intrigued by your photographs.

  6. giiid on

    Grace, this is such a big compliment you are giving me, thank you very much! Your work is just lovely and the possibility of having inspired you just a tiny bit, makes me so proud. I will think of this compliment, when doubt is passing by now and then.

  7. Gerry on

    This is so appealing. I guess I will always be attracted to red buildings!

    • giiid on

      I like red things too, including buildings.

  8. Martha on

    Birgitte ~ goddag! I love the colors and reflection in this photo as well as the thatch roof. My grandfather was a blacksmith in Denmark and the U.S.

    • giiid on

      Goddag Martha. I have a photo of the interior of the blacksmiths house, your grandfather surely have used the same tools. (Which in many cases are timeless, I think) Maybe I have some photos from the area he came from, let me know where it is.

  9. WildBlack on

    That looks cool 🙂

    • giiid on

      🙂 Thanks for commenting.

  10. kcjewel on

    oh my… i want to live in the black-smith’s house. this photograph makes me want to look inside!!

    • giiid on

      I´m sure they would be glad at the museum, to have a person living in the house! Around the country there are houses like this, but made up to date inside. Insurence for this kind of house is more expensive, because of the thatched roof. (Lightning is a threat.)

  11. Martha on

    Hello, Birgitte! My grandpa was born in Drejø and lived in Hundtoft, Fyn and Stenstrup before moving to the United States. My grandma was born in Thisted, Jutland. My great grandparents were born in Vestervig, Jylland. A long time ago!

    • giiid on

      I´ll find some photos from the areas, and show you. Vestervig seems to be a place bringing up brave people who want to see more of the world. One of my blogfriends from USA has family from there, too.


Leave a Reply

