Portrait of a snail and a smile

white-lipped snail

My niece, who BTW gave me the name  Giiid because she couldn´t say Birgitte yet, asked me to take a photo of a snail that she had found in the garden.

These snails are everywhere, harmless with only a few enemies; birds and garden owners – (wikipedia). Wiki doesn´t mention their friends; the children, who loves to study the snail hiding / comming out of the shell. The snails would most likely be better served without this  interesse, but the children enjoy their found, no doubt.

White-lipped snail

After the snail photosession,  I asked my niece if I could take her photo. She refused, and I had to make fun with her, to get my picture. The camera is obviously not made for that kind of photography, but never mind, I got my smile.

6 comments so far

  1. Anjeanette on

    how fun!! We just read a book on snails. My boys love them too.

  2. giiid on

    Nice!…and as far as I can see at the internet, you have a snail similar to this one,- if not the same.

  3. CheyAnne Sexton on

    oh your niece is beautiful and you can tell she loves you, even tho she wasn’t sure about the camera pointing at her.

  4. burstmode on

    It is a very sweet set of photos. Love the soft focus.

  5. awalkabout on

    she’s adorable!!!

  6. Collage « My 2008 blog on

    […] leaf from  the garden. 8. My niece found this snail, and asked me to take some pictures of it. I made a post last year with the photos. 9. This is the fragile shell of a sea urchin,  my husband found it at a beach […]


Leave a Reply

