December 12

Pebernødder (pepper – nuts) is one of the Christmas biscuits that are everywhere those days. They are very small, only 2 cm in diameter. Pebernødder has been made  for Christmas in Denmark since 1700, before that time they were caled pebercakes. Those were known as far back as in 1400.

They were/can be made of  rye or wheat flour, sweetened with honey or syrup and added spices like ginger, cinnamon, cloves, cardamom – and sometimes pepper.

We have an expression for a job being very easy to do, or something being very cheep to buy: “This  is pebernødder”.

Here is the simpel recipe:

250 gr. Flour
175 gr. butter
½ tsp. white peper
1 tsp. vanilla
125 gr. sugar
Lemon peel

Mix everything, then make small round cakes in the size of a nut.
In the oven at 200 degree C, in about 8 – 10 minutes.


And here is an old one:
375 gr. Flour
1/4 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. ginger (powder)
1/8 tp. peber
125 gr. butter
125 gr. brown sugar
1 egg
4 tsp. cream
—–
1 tsp. syrup
1 tsp Cinnamon
1 tsp. cloves
Mix  Flour, baking powder, ginger and peper. Add cold butter in small pieces. In another bowl: mix brown sugar and egg, add cream. Add the flour mix to this eggmix, and finish the pastry. Part the pastry in two. Add syrup, cinnamon and nelliker to one of the parts. Save the pastry in a cold place for a while.
Making the cakes:

Put flour on the table, and make some long thin “sausages”. Cut those every 2 cm. In a warm oven, 15 minuter at 225 degree C

9 comments so far

  1. Anjeanette on

    How interesting. I wonder what they taste like?

  2. giiid on

    I will find a recipe to you. They are also used in many family games. I will find that too 🙂

  3. thedailyclick on

    If these taste anything like the German Pfeffernüsse, then they are soooo good!! The German ones are glazed… some kind of sugar glaze I think?

  4. giiid on

    Some history: Pebernødder are the oldest christmas biscuit that we know of. They were known in year 1400 or before. In old time the expression “to be pebbering” was used for adding spices to make a sharp taste. The name is related to the German Pfeffernüssen, I guess that the taste must have been the same, but I don´t know. I think it is the same today, but there are many different ways to make them. Luckily they are only available at christmas, because they are too easy to eat…a lot of!

  5. cindydyer on

    Birgitte—

    Your recipes and photos of sweet things are making me sooooo hungry! I love the word “Pebernodder,” too.

    Are you taking orders for them? 😉

  6. giiid on

    It seems like bloggers are having “a sweet tooth” (wonder if you have this expression?)and could use a special blogger cake. Maybe an idea for Word press?

    I can´t take orders, because I will eat them all, they are too easy to eat. 🙂 I´m glad they will disappear from the shops soon.

  7. Martha on

    Greetings, Birgitte! This is my first visit to your blog and I am loving it! My grandparents carried on many Danish traditions following their arrival to the US and I think my family would rate baking Pebernødder as the favorite tradition. It is a big job to make a large batch. You are correct that it is very difficult to stop eating them! They are SO delicious with coffee! It is nice to meet you. Mange tak and Gladelig Jul!

  8. giiid on

    Tak, Martha! How wonderful to know, that you have kept this tradition alive, baking pebernødder. Maybe you are even better at doing it, than the Danes, who got used to buy them instead. I would like to know what other traditions your family have kept. Do you have a blog? If so, I would like to read it. I wish you too Glædelig jul!

  9. December 10 « My 2008 blog on

    […] you want the more complicated, please look at my old post  from […]


Leave a Reply

