Rain at the street and strange bird behaviour.

Rain at the street 

Rain at the street

After weeks of sunshine, the rain was a welcoming guest, both to the plants and to me.

I saw something very surprisingly in the garden,  when I was looking out of the window. Participants were a pidgin and two magpies. They were all eating the leftovers of the rabbits feed. Suddenly, one of magpies began to pull the feathers of the pidgin. The strange thing was, that the pidgin didn´t care at all, it just kept on eating, while now both magpies tried everything to stop it. They even pulled one of the  wings straight out. Later I saw these feathers. Maybe the pidgin actualy liked to get rid of them?

5 comments so far

  1. daggygee on

    Great perspectives-love the feather!!!!

  2. giiid on

    Thank you for the feed back 🙂

  3. uphilldowndale on

    Fine feathers, what lens do you use?
    I often see crows, who are same family as magpies, standing on the backs of cattle, pulling out hair for their nests, not seen it in birds though

  4. giiid on

    Very interesting, we were actually thinking if this could be the reason. The great tit are using the leaves from my poor sage, is it because they are soft or because they are disinfective? I don´t know.

    My camera is just a small pocket camera, a FUJI finepix f40fd http://www.fujifilm.com/products/digital_cameras/f/finepix_f40fd/index.html

    I am using it while looking for a new and digital SLR camera, that is small and handy.
    This FUJI finepix f40fd showed up to be a VERY good camera, and so handy that I always have it in my bag. (It´s even hard to find in the bag sometimes!)
    It goes up to 1600 ISO, which means that I can avoid using flash. I am still looking for the right SLR camera, and I am very interested to hear about experiences that can speed up my decision. The small FUJI is by the way also very cheap.

  5. erikatakacs on

    I love the feathers too, Birgitte.


Leave a Reply

