Abstract

My contribution to “Abstract”, Scott Thomas latest assignment, is photos of some ordinary things, which can be found in most homes. Can you see what it is? Make your guess before you read the comments. :-)

20 comments so far

  1. Barbara on

    Love the CDs! (Am I giving too much information away?)

    • Giiid on

      You are welcome to make your guess, like everyone else. There are three different things, so still something to find out about. :-)

  2. deirdrea on

    Ha! I think I’ve got it!

    CD
    Measuring tape
    Paperwhite bulb (or onion — or garlic).

    BEAUTIFUL photos!
    :-D

    • Giiid on

      Deirdrea, you are very smart, I thought it was impossible to guess the measuring tape! Lets see if any other are just as clever. :-) The onion is a garlic.

      • deirdrea on

        You’re right, the measuring tape was the hardest one. Yours is much prettier than mine — the color is lovely.
        :-D

  3. TheDailyClick on

    These are VERY nice, Birgitte! :-)

    • Giiid on

      Thank you Michaela. :-)

  4. milkayphoto on

    Wonderful abstracts and oh-so-very clever!

    • Giiid on

      Thi-hi, :-) thank you Tracy.

  5. Gerry on

    I was just sure the measuring tape was the ends of vertical blinds. Just goes to show you. I liked the rainbows. Ten years from now no one will know what CDs are. Were. Sigh.

    • Giiid on

      It is a bit disturbing to think of all the different technical devices one has to keep stored, just to be able to read or see old films, photos or documents. On the other hand, most people gave up their old long play disks, but now it seems that record players have become modern again, because an LP is better than a CD to produce sound details. LP´s and record player is still on stock here, and my status concerning playing music is changing from stoneage to very modern. I´ll keep my CDs a safe place and wait patiently. My true worry is all the public archives, if they remember to save a copy of the “viewer” too.

  6. isathreadsoflife on

    Incredibly abstract ! The only picture I recognized was the garlic skins. As for the others, gorgeous rainbows, I thought it could be some sort of ceiling lamp or disc. As for the no 2 picture… I imagined a pile of fabric table sets. Why do I have to transform everything into fabrics ? In any case I knew you would come out with some fabulous and mysterious pictures, abstract style. So well done, giiid !

    • Giiid on

      Thank you for the nice feedback, Isa. In my opinion, everyone has produced beautiful and mysterious photos. I know it was your idea to choose this subject, what a great succes and a fun challenge.
      Of course you see things as fabric, that is what you have zoomed in to, and that is why you are so good at it. I do the same thing, seen from my zoom point. :-)

  7. erikatakacs on

    Love them all, but I find the measuring tape the most imaginative.

    • Giiid on

      HI Erika. I was surprised that it was guessed, I would never have thought of such if I was to come with a bid. I didn’t really plan it either, it just popped up. It takes some time to let the brain relax and see things as shapes and not known objects, but finally it succeded. :-)

  8. [...] Brigitte submitted two links. The first was about flowers and, while they are nice, her second post blew me away. Now I know what to do with outdated technology! [...]

  9. [...] Brigitte submitted two links. The first was about flowers and, while they are nice, her second post blew me away. Now I know what to do with outdated technology! [...]

  10. flandrumhill on

    What beautiful lines and colors you’ve captured in the everyday.

    • Giiid on

      I´m glad you like them, as I just answered at the comment before, it takes time to change the brain to notice lines and colors instead of well known objects, but it is an interesting and good experience, to see surroundings that way. Perhaps a bit like animals does? At least they won´t worry about things being nice or ugly, for instance. :-)

  11. Giiid on

    Thank you for all the “likes” at this post, I like them. :-)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 219 other followers

