A clear and double rainbow

This double rainbow (no photo shop involved)  suddenly appeared at the sky this evening. I don´t think that I have ever seen such clear colours at a rainbow before.

5 comments so far

  1. viktorherremode on

    Thats one of natures miracles, just go to the end and start digging, you have two oppetunities :-)

  2. Ginger on

    This is very nice, the colors are bright and vivid. I’ve never seen the double rainbows before, is this the first time that it happended?

  3. giiid on

    It is not the first time I have seen this, it happens at rare intervals. Still it is a sight that makes many people leave their houses, to come out to the street to take pictures. At wikipedia, I have found out the reason that this double rainbow seemed so special to me, “colours of a secondary rainbow are inverted compared to the primary bow” it says.
    Looking at the picture again, it is obvious that this is what I have seen without knowing. Your question was the way to know, thank you :-)

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rainbow :
    Occasionally, a second, dimmer, and thicker secondary rainbow is seen outside the primary bow. Secondary rainbows are caused by a double reflection of sunlight inside the raindrops, and appear at an angle of 50°–53°. As a result of the second reflection, the colours of a secondary rainbow are inverted compared to the primary bow, with blue on the outside and red on the inside. The dark area of unlit sky lying between the primary and secondary bows is called Alexander’s band, after Alexander of Aphrodisias who first described it.

  4. erikatakacs on

    Nice shot. This is a frequent phenomenon at Niagara Falls. I see a rainbow almost every time I go there, and I think I took a picture of a double rainbow myself at one time.

  5. stphoto on

    Oh, lucky you! I recently caught a complete bowed rainbow near where I live by my lens wasn’t wide enough to take it all in from my location.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 257 other followers

